Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
This roast tasted great, and I like the flour/spice rub. HOWEVER, something was wrong with the timing. I had 4lbs of meat, and roasted it for just over 90 minutes. Meat thermometer said 135 degrees. Let it rest for 30 minutes, as instructed. Unfortunately, when we tried to slice it for Easter dinner, it was so rare it was still bleeding. We had to finish it off in the crock pot and save it for the next day. According to my meat thermometer, you need to roast to an internal temp. of 160 degrees for medium. I wish I'd known that ahead of time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Moothart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nevada City, California, USA
Living In: La Habra, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
I followed the directions exact and it was wonderful. I cooked a 11# and I never seen meat so tender. Triple a+ recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oconomowoc, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
Loved it! I cooked a much smaller roast -- 4.5 lbs. -- and just adjusted the cooking time. I also used minced fresh garlic, instead of garlic powder, and that made it even better. The end cuts were fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Great recipe as long as you don't want to make gravy from the drippings. The tin foil and flour coating make that difficult. But I did like that it was easy to clean up afterwards. I had a really small roast that was just over 2 lbs which was done in about 45 minutes, so I cooked my potatoes in the roast pan with the roast and they were both done at the same time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
I was skeptical, but the roast was the best I have ever made! Everyone loved it. I followed the directions exactly, and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ktwofish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Exceptional
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
Loved this recipe ... thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
This was so easy to make and it was WONDERFUL!! This was my first attempt at Prime Rib and everyone loved it! I had 2 smaller ribs (one 3.5 lbs and one 4 lbs), so I doubled the flour and seasonings to adequately cover both- I could have used just a single recipe- I really, really coated it (which was really sealed in the juices- only fat drippings in pan). This was so juicy and cooked to a perfect medium rare. I followed the advise of another reviewer and did 20 mins/ lb. and baked at 425. They didn't come all the way to room temp. before I coated and baked them (which I think added about 15 mins), and turned out very tasty. I served with the bacon wrapped asparagus and roasted red potatos (also from this site) and my version of a spinach strawberry salad. Will DEFINITELY make again. My husbands taste buds were in heaven at dinner tonight :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Sartell, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
The meat was cooked perfectly....Picked up a beautiful 5.6 pound Rib Eye Roast from Sams Club and cooked it uncovered on a wire rack for 20 minutes a pound. I took it out at an internal temperature of 130, wrapped in foil for 30 minutes, and it was perfect. My only suggestion is to add a really good steak seasoning to the flour instead of all the other stuff. I made the coating exactly per the directions and although it did keep the juices inside it was light on flavor for my taste. A healthy mix of a Chicago Steak Seasoning with salt and flour in the coating makes this a first rate Prime Rib for my taste. Thank you very much for sharing...Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pittstlrfan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
I was so excited to use this recipe.I made for Christmas Day.The crust looked so beautiful.I followed ccoking directions.I love medium rare prime rib.It was so disappointing as it was all cooked medium.This should be in the oven 1 hour less for medium rare.Live in learn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

Foolproof Rib Roast

When you want to splurge, this rib roast recipe rocks.

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States