Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
This is the best tasting prime rib I have ever made! The seasonings seem very simple but they end result is so flavorful but does not overpower! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
I just finished Christmas Dinner with a 20 lb Choice Rib Roast. Added fresh chopped rosemary and Montreal Seasoning to recipe.I rubbed Olive oil on roast then flour mixture. I had lots of other dishes going and forgot to set timer. Temperature got to 140 and i pulled it out. Even though it was over cooked it was still moist and had raves about flavor. I will try again for New Years and will achieve perfection! I won't worry anymore.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Perfect! Made this last Christmas Day for the first time. It was wonderful. I was not a huge fan of prime rib but my family loves it so they won the dinner choice. This recipe changed my mind. I had to leave out the onion powder as I am allergic to it but it was wonderful without. Tomorrow I will follow this recipe for the fourth time and don't have to wonder how it will taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
came out amazing! followed almost exactly. Didn't have garlic powder so used minced. Also didn't have celery seed but it didnt affect anything. I seasoned this meat the night before the party. Awsome recipe. It was my first time cooking this type of pricey meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
This is an excellent recipe! It comes out tender and juicy every time. I roasted mine for 13 minutes per pound before removing from the oven, tenting and letting stand for an hour to finish cooking. The result ranged from a rare to medium rare center, to well done end caps, which is perfect. You dip slices in the hot juice if you want to cook them a little more. That is that way restaurants make prime rib to order. I want to share my favorite horseradish sauce recipe for serving with prime rib (especially), or any roast of beef, venison or elk. I use extra hot, PREPARED horseradish (not cream style) and mix two parts sour cream to one part hot prepared horseradish. It is that simple, and you will not believe how it brings out the flavor of red meat! It is very light and cool, but with a kick! It is called 'horseradish sherbet'. This sauce is also great to serve with grilled, fried or broiled red meats. You can make as much or as little as you need and leftover sauce stores nicely for up to two weeks in the refrigerator. If you like horseradish, you will love this sauce. Give it a try. Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to all my fellow cooks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
I loved this recipe but I want to warn everyone about a few contradictions in it. If you read the cook time at top is says 2 hours for a 14 pound roast, but in the body of the recipe it calls for 20 minutes a pound or 4 1/2 hours. Then if you read the reviews everyone calls for cooking it for 15 minutes a pound instead of 20. Follow the recipe but cook it for 15 minutes per pound and keep an eye on your thermometer. It only took me about 2 1/2 hours to get to temperature on a 12 pound beast it should have been at least 3. Great recipe but confusing instructions
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by samslick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jamestown, New York, USA
Living In: Torrance, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
To us Prime Rib is the king of roasts and we enjoy it a few times a year. This method is excellent - unforunately not all agree, but it works for us. Thank you for giving others a very good method for cooking this wonderful cut of beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
Followed directions as posted. Was a little more rare than I wanted, but it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
To all those who had less than desired results I can only say 1) get an oven thermometer - ovens can be off as much as 50 deg. 2) get a meat thermometer to ensure you get the right done-ness. 3) Do NOT change the temperature, that's right this roast cooks the full time at 425. And to Barbara who originally posted this recipe - a big THANK YOU. I have tried several different ways of making prime rib and this is the best by far. I won't try another recipe but expect to be making this one again very soon. AWESOME tenderness, taste and so moist YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Verdun, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
The best roast ever
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

Foolproof Rib Roast

When you want to splurge, this rib roast recipe rocks.

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States