Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
I have prepared numerous prime rib roasts through the years; this recipe was foolproof. I had run out of celery seeds so subsituted a little celery salt. It still came out beautifully. I roasted annabella potatoes, parsnips and a couple of carrots around the roast. Next time I will add some onions. As there was little to no roast drippings I relied on some gravy stashed in the freezer and had to forgo making yorkshire pudding Next time I will add some of the scant drippings to some oil to produce the required fat for the yorkshires. This roast was perfectly cooked, flavourful and will be my go to recipe for prime rib next time I serve it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
I didn't follow the recipe exactly but this was the most incredible prime rib I have ever had. The crust and juiciness were amazing. I used more salt (1/4 C sea salt and 1/4 C garlic salt) but everything else the same. I roasted it at 350 for 2 - 2 1/2 hours. It measured 120 when I took it out and went up to 130 which is right for medium rare. We let it rest for an hour. When we cut it the very center was just a hair on the rare side. Next time I'll try the 425 searing. I would still do the amount of salt. It did not come out too salty. I even added 1 1/2 C madeira and 1/2 C water to the bottom of the pan for au jus. It was incredible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
excellent cookies my husband loves them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mytilineos Litsa

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Made several Prime ribs. Used on other roast. Great every time. Watching temp is very important. I pull at 130......by the time I slice I am in the 140's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Amazing! Followed the recipe exaclty and this was fabulous! Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
Made this for 2012 Christmas Eve Dinner and everyone loves it. It was moist and tender, came out perfect! The only change I made was using Montreal Steak Spice in place of paprika, onion powder, garlic powder and celery seed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by franette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
I was going to give-up on making Prime Rib ,because I either overcook or undercook it, even using an themometer but decided to give it another try for Xmas dinner. This was so easy and delicious. The meat was cooked perfectly to our liking...medium. Outside was nicely browned and flavorful. This recipe really takes all the guesswork out of preparing such an expensive cut of meat. I had a two bone, 3 pounder, and cooked it for an hour on 425...I used 20 min. per pound. Tented it for 30. Fabulous! This will be my new go to for Prime Rib dinner. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynne

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I wanted something special for our New Year's Day dinner so I got a prime rib roast and used this recipe. The only change I made was to add a bit of steak spice to the rub. The flavour was wonderful and the roast was SO tender and juicy. It got raves from everyone. I'll be keeping this recipe even though I probably won't use it often since this cut of meat is so expensive. Well worth the try though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
I love prime rib & this is by far THE best recipe - better than prime rib I've had at many restaurants. Literally gets 5 star reviews from my guests who do not hesitate to request I make it agin and again. I usually use Paula Dean's cooking method (turning off oven for a period and then turning back on) because it really is fool proof. I do have one question though - last time I made it, the roast was tied and after cooking, removing ties caused coating to fall off. It really screwed up the fantastic flavoring. I can't recall what I had done differently in the past that did not result in this problem. Making for Xmas eve again this year and could use diagnosis of my error, if anyone knows what I did wrong, please please please post!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
I've made this 3 times and love the way it turned out. So so so moist. I don't think you can improve on this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

Foolproof Rib Roast

When you want to splurge, this rib roast recipe rocks.

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States