Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
I made this for a party of 10 had an 11 pound rib roast - followed the directions as written - by far the BEST rib roast I have ever made. The ENTIRE roast was eaten, great reviews from the guests as well. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison Diamond

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
This roast was the best we ever made. We followed the heat directions with temp at 425 and cooked 15 minutes per pound. Let roast rest covered for 45 minutes. Roast was a perfect medium rare in the center with the ends being on the medium side. Our roast was 6.33# so we cut the seasonings in half. Had never tried coating with flour this created a nice crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
The flour spice mix I now will use but the high temp method totally killed the outside of roast. the usual succulent outter meat ring wasTurned to jerky while the center was 125 f.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
I tried this recipe on Christmas Eve for my family. I bought a 10 lbs rib roast and cooked it exactly as directed. We wanted it rare so I cooked it for 15 minutes per pound. I used a meat thermometer and let it raise to 120 degrees. Then took it out of the oven, tented it for about 45 minutes. When we cut into it, it was well done. Very disappointed. The meat, however was tender and good tasting, and there was not alot of splattering going on in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
I used this recipe to cook a 4 1/2 pound boneless prime rib and it turned out fantastic!! Everyone loved it and went back for more. I followed the directions and ingredients exactly and my roast came out juicy, flavorful and medium rare. There were no drippings and my roast had very little faT but I did add a cup of water to the pan a few times while it was baking. I did let the roast sit for 45 minutes before carving it, it was still very warm. Reading other reviews left me worried about what temperature and how long to cook this but this method worked perfectly!! Especially since I has other things cooking in the oven at the same time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
Came out perfectly, I can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dave Zygadlo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
I used this recipe for a 8lbs roast for a xmas dinner for my in laws. read over half of the reviews before getting started. I followed the recipe to the letter. Wife and I have eaten in the best restaurants her in N.C., this was the best prime rib we ever had. great crust, no smoked up kitchen, and wonderful flavor. All the juice stayed in the meat after resting for 20 mins., no need for au jus. Just take the time for the roast to get to room temp. before cooking, that is the key. Use a meat thermometer with alarm, set it for how you like it cooked and trust it, you want be sorry. THANK YOU for a great way to cook prime rib.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
I will keep this simple, this recipe works great as long as you remember 2 key points. Use a meat thermometer and remove the roast from the oven once the internal temp hits 120 degrees, the roast will continue to cook as it sits, once it hits 140 or so you have a nice medium rare roast ready fir the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
This was so delicious. Easy to prepare. No leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
I made a small 5.5 lb rib roast using this recipe (I halved the flour and seasonings). Roasted it on a rack, 15 minutes per pound. It was delicious. Slices ranged from med- well to med-rare. The meat was melt - in - your mouth tender. A perfect holiday meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

Foolproof Rib Roast

When you want to splurge, this rib roast recipe rocks.

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States