Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by HollyG
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
I just made this tonight, and I have to say it was absolutely wonderful! First of all, the negative reviews about this being dry I cannot understand, unless they had an already trimmed cut (no fat). I followed the recipe exactly. The only difference was my cook time due to my roast only being 4 lbs. I ended up cooking mine for 1 1/2 hours at 425. You all need to remember that everyone has different types of ovens which is going to change the cook time. I have a large 6.2 cu gas oven which ended in me adding another 20 minutes. This is a most wonderful recipe. The only change I am going to make is to insert slivers of garlic for more of a kick next time. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HollyG

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
I used this recipe for a 4 bone, 9lb roast. I did not do the room temp thing. At ~2 hrs, I began checking the internal temp. When it reached 120, I turned the oven off while I finished the rest of the meal, which took another 20 minutes. I then took the roast out of the oven and let it rest for 15 minutes before slicing. The outside slices were medium well. The inner slices were medium rare--both were juicy and delicious. I will use this recipe any time I prepare prime rib.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
Great recipe, but I checked the temperature after an hour and half. It was sheer perfection for medium-rare. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Norma Albin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
This recipe was perfectly written. I made no changes and it turned out to be a delicious roast. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Like many, we were leary of the high temperature for the duration....and we were wrong. It was perfect. This was a smallish roast (4 lbs 130z). I left the bones on. I've cooked rib roast numerous times in the past but they always seemed more "baked" than truly roasted (I can't think of a better description.) This method really does turn out the restaurant-quality prime rib consistency you are looking for. Use 20 min/lb at 425F then remove and let sit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shel Hastey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
This recipe turned out beautifully! I followed the suggestions on cooking a bit longer, and along with my trusty thermometer, I was able to put a wonderful roast out for Sunday dinner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
Timing of roast seems to be very tricky. My 4 pound roast took only 45 minutes. Fortnately I was using a meat thermometer and the resting stage is flexibke so the vegetables can 'catch up''.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
I made this for a party of 10 had an 11 pound rib roast - followed the directions as written - by far the BEST rib roast I have ever made. The ENTIRE roast was eaten, great reviews from the guests as well. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison Diamond

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
This roast was the best we ever made. We followed the heat directions with temp at 425 and cooked 15 minutes per pound. Let roast rest covered for 45 minutes. Roast was a perfect medium rare in the center with the ends being on the medium side. Our roast was 6.33# so we cut the seasonings in half. Had never tried coating with flour this created a nice crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
The flour spice mix I now will use but the high temp method totally killed the outside of roast. the usual succulent outter meat ring wasTurned to jerky while the center was 125 f.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 227) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

Foolproof Rib Roast

When you want to splurge, this rib roast recipe rocks.

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States