Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
Great recipe, but I checked the temperature after an hour and half. It was sheer perfection for medium-rare. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
This recipe was perfectly written. I made no changes and it turned out to be a delicious roast. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Like many, we were leary of the high temperature for the duration....and we were wrong. It was perfect. This was a smallish roast (4 lbs 130z). I left the bones on. I've cooked rib roast numerous times in the past but they always seemed more "baked" than truly roasted (I can't think of a better description.) This method really does turn out the restaurant-quality prime rib consistency you are looking for. Use 20 min/lb at 425F then remove and let sit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shel Hastey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
This recipe turned out beautifully! I followed the suggestions on cooking a bit longer, and along with my trusty thermometer, I was able to put a wonderful roast out for Sunday dinner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
Timing of roast seems to be very tricky. My 4 pound roast took only 45 minutes. Fortnately I was using a meat thermometer and the resting stage is flexibke so the vegetables can 'catch up''.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
I made this for a party of 10 had an 11 pound rib roast - followed the directions as written - by far the BEST rib roast I have ever made. The ENTIRE roast was eaten, great reviews from the guests as well. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison Diamond

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
This roast was the best we ever made. We followed the heat directions with temp at 425 and cooked 15 minutes per pound. Let roast rest covered for 45 minutes. Roast was a perfect medium rare in the center with the ends being on the medium side. Our roast was 6.33# so we cut the seasonings in half. Had never tried coating with flour this created a nice crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
We just finished eating our restaurant rib roast that we followed exactly as the recipe says. The flour spice mix I now will use but the high temp method totally killed the outside of roast. the usual succulent outter meat ring wasTurned to jerky while the center was 125 f. Use the high temp sear method and turn the oven temp down to 325 for 20 k mins a lb
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
I tried this recipe on Christmas Eve for my family. I bought a 10 lbs rib roast and cooked it exactly as directed. We wanted it rare so I cooked it for 15 minutes per pound. I used a meat thermometer and let it raise to 120 degrees. Then took it out of the oven, tented it for about 45 minutes. When we cut into it, it was well done. Very disappointed. The meat, however was tender and good tasting, and there was not alot of splattering going on in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
I used this recipe to cook a 4 1/2 pound boneless prime rib and it turned out fantastic!! Everyone loved it and went back for more. I followed the directions and ingredients exactly and my roast came out juicy, flavorful and medium rare. There were no drippings and my roast had very little faT but I did add a cup of water to the pan a few times while it was baking. I did let the roast sit for 45 minutes before carving it, it was still very warm. Reading other reviews left me worried about what temperature and how long to cook this but this method worked perfectly!! Especially since I has other things cooking in the oven at the same time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

Foolproof Rib Roast

When you want to splurge, this rib roast recipe rocks.

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States