Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
We tried this with a smaller portion of meat, didn't bring it to room temperature, and didn't do anything with the ribs before cooking ... but it was still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
I have NEVER attempted a prime rib roast before, but decided turkey, ham, lamb, just wasn't in the cards for our Easter dinner. I looked over several recipes, but decided on this one, and I am glad I did. Although I was tempted more than once to turn down the oven (425 scared me to death!), I stuck it out. Having an expensive, grass-fed roast only made my nerves sway more. I cooked exactly as directed and this was PERFECTION! Fabulous flavor, juicy, tender, crisp outside, and devoured by my family! Thanks Barb, for this recipe! I don't think I could have selected a better one :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HollyG
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
I just made this tonight, and I have to say it was absolutely wonderful! First of all, the negative reviews about this being dry I cannot understand, unless they had an already trimmed cut (no fat). I followed the recipe exactly. The only difference was my cook time due to my roast only being 4 lbs. I ended up cooking mine for 1 1/2 hours at 425. You all need to remember that everyone has different types of ovens which is going to change the cook time. I have a large 6.2 cu gas oven which ended in me adding another 20 minutes. This is a most wonderful recipe. The only change I am going to make is to insert slivers of garlic for more of a kick next time. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HollyG

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
I used this recipe for a 4 bone, 9lb roast. I did not do the room temp thing. At ~2 hrs, I began checking the internal temp. When it reached 120, I turned the oven off while I finished the rest of the meal, which took another 20 minutes. I then took the roast out of the oven and let it rest for 15 minutes before slicing. The outside slices were medium well. The inner slices were medium rare--both were juicy and delicious. I will use this recipe any time I prepare prime rib.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
Great recipe, but I checked the temperature after an hour and half. It was sheer perfection for medium-rare. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Norma Albin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
This recipe was perfectly written. I made no changes and it turned out to be a delicious roast. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Like many, we were leary of the high temperature for the duration....and we were wrong. It was perfect. This was a smallish roast (4 lbs 130z). I left the bones on. I've cooked rib roast numerous times in the past but they always seemed more "baked" than truly roasted (I can't think of a better description.) This method really does turn out the restaurant-quality prime rib consistency you are looking for. Use 20 min/lb at 425F then remove and let sit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shel Hastey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
This recipe turned out beautifully! I followed the suggestions on cooking a bit longer, and along with my trusty thermometer, I was able to put a wonderful roast out for Sunday dinner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
Timing of roast seems to be very tricky. My 4 pound roast took only 45 minutes. Fortnately I was using a meat thermometer and the resting stage is flexibke so the vegetables can 'catch up''.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
I made this for a party of 10 had an 11 pound rib roast - followed the directions as written - by far the BEST rib roast I have ever made. The ENTIRE roast was eaten, great reviews from the guests as well. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison Diamond

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 229) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

Foolproof Rib Roast

When you want to splurge, this rib roast recipe rocks.

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States