Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
Just from reading this recipe, I would not even attempt with a $9/lb rib roast. 425 for 4 1/2 hours??? Will surely be dried out and tough. I will pass on this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
The first time, I tried this recipe was on Christmas 2010 for myself and family. I was so worried that it was going to turn out so wrong. (Not).....And the following year l prepared this for my mother and step-father and they loved it. So now, my mother wants it every Christmas. (Not). It is the best hands down...... I plan to do this same flour crust for my New York Loin Roast for this 2014 Xmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Mouton-James

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Celebration, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
Spot on!! You have to try it. Restaurant secret is out!! I added additional cracked pepper and Old Bay seasoning. Wow, so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Excellent recipe thanks so much for sharing it's a keeper in our family anyone who tries this wont be disappointed and if you are YOU did something wrong.....We do this one every christmas and year after year the list of people coming for christmas dinner is getting bigger and bigger we have done 2 roast at 22lbs and still no left overs and everyone wants the recipe so now I've printed recipe's out for those who want one....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNEH2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
This recipe is great! I followed the instructions and happy with the results. My boyfriend was in meat heaven. I bought a 4.5 lb roast coated the meat with the flour seasoned with the spices and cooked the meat at 425 degrees for 1 hour and 30 minutes and allowed the roast to sit for about 45 minutes before serving. Medium rare was the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debra Sampson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
works every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by superchef mike

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Okauchee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
Because of all of people’s issues with the meat getting overdone, we bought a digital thermometer that stays in the meat and has an alarm when either the time or temperature reached a certain point. It was well worth the 20 dollars. The time was shorter than we had estimated but it didn't matter because once we reached the right temp, the alarm went off and we took it out. Was super tasty and had no jus because it was inside the meat. Felt like professionals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
This was delicious! I used the ingredients listed and cooked for 15 minutes per pound. Covered with foil and rested for 45 minutes and it turned out to be a perfect medium rare. Thanks so much for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Auburn, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
Only thing I changed were some of the spices in the flour (I used horseradish, sea salt, paprika, and rosemary). It was awesome!!!! Mine was 4.5 lbs and I took it out once it got to 138 degrees (it took about an hour or so) and covered it for 20 min. It was still warm and the perfect med-rare. The outside coating was delish!! I served it with horseradish sauce. I used aluminum on the bottom of my roasting pan and had no issues with smoke as others have said. Will be trying this with leg of lamb on Easter!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Made this for Christmas dinner this year and it worked very well. Mom is an awful cook, she will admit it. I learned this from her years ago and have used this technique on rump roasts and whole pork loins. Who knew she had a great trick in this! Juicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

Foolproof Rib Roast

When you want to splurge, this rib roast recipe rocks.

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States