Restaurant-Style Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2015
4 stars for recipe as is, though I had a few problems with this. I've never boiled potatoes before and Doing this right is critical. This recipe calls for you to boil water then add whole potatoes, cool and chop after. This will result in mushy outside cooked and hard inside. I had to start all over again but instead, peeled and cut potatoes into 1/2 inch-1inch cubes, put them in cold water and brought that to a boil covered. Once boiling I uncovered and checked for doneness every 1-2 minutes by biting into pieces and cutting with a fork. I was worried there was too much sugar so I decreased that by a third. I felt there was hardly any ingredients in this so I Added extra onion and carrot, probably double the original recipe. And lots lots more celery since I like it crunchy. I recommend mixing dressing first then folding into potatoe to prevent mushing them too much. It came out awesome and everyone loved it. Of note--I made 3x the amount called for one recipe and of course tripled the ingredients but still felt like it was hardly enough though it would have still been good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Melnick

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2015
Great, easy, very tasty. I made exactly as written, my son and husband loved it. Going to make again tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2015
Made this on a whim for the 4th of July. I used red wine vinegar and dijon mustard. Didn't have carrot or pimento. Still we loved it and thought it was every bit as good as a more time consuming German potato salad I usually make. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
Yummy! I give it 5 stars even though I had to substitute a few things, very good base recipe. Had to use 1/2 cup cracked pepper mayo with 1/2 cup miracle whip, and spicy brown mustard, because that's all I had. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2015
There's another potato salad recipe on this site that I normally use and it has lots of ratings on it, but I decided to give this one a chance and I'm glad I did. It was so easy and very tasty. I was actually quite lazy and skipped alot of the ingredients. I did half the amount of mayo, used the 2tsp of mustard as called for and honestly, it was good just like that. I added half the amount of sugar, which in the end, wasn't that necessary but I wanted to see what it would taste like. I also used cider vinegar since that's all I had and it added a nice zip. I left everything else out and you know what...it was still good! I'm sure the onions would have brought it up another notch but I was fine with just the basics.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PINKXG1RL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2015
Nope this potato salad just wasnt for us sorry to say :( I agree it was very bland not nearly enough onion or celery for our taste and my whole family asked wheres the eggs lol so needless to say i wont be repeating this recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2015
Fantastic!!! It's a great recipe that has no eggs and you don't miss them! Loved it and it was popular in the buffet table!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
Very good recipe. A change I tried, cooked the potatoes the night before and marinated them in an Italian vinegarette dressing. Gives the potatoes an amazing flavor. And I also added bacon bits just before serving
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
Loved it! Took it to a party and everyone really liked it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
I just made this and it's delicious. The only thing I changed is I added bacon and pearl onions. I didn't add in sugar since I thought it didn't need it. I recommend making this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 249) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Potato Salad

A quick and easy, creamy potato salad.

Warm Steak and Potato Salad

Learn how to make a satisfying salad with the addition of steak and potatoes.

Almost Fat-Free Green Onion Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad that’s almost entirely fat-free.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States