Restaurant-Style Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Absolutely loved it! This is my families favorite potato salad and I never have any left. I did make a larger serving size and put more carrots and celery than called for nd added onion. NOTE::::-- IT IS EXTREMELY EASIER TO MAKE THE DRESSING ON THE SIDE AND ADD TO THE POTATOES.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
I was looking for a potato salad this evening for packed lunches. I just so happened to have all the ingredients for this one. I just found it way too sweet. The next day, fortunately, it mellows some with the other flavors. The problem is, this potato salad is really just potatoes and mayonnaise. It is also quite heavy on the dressing for my personal taste. I did end up adding some sliced boiled eggs, and garnish, to at least dress it up on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
This recipe is great because you can make it to suit your/your families' tastes. Did not add onions, celery, pimento or carrots so the kids would like it. (In my opinion the carrots just give it color anyway) Was out of eggs, but would definitely add next time. I would have added celery seed instead of celery, but forgot; would add next time. And I would double or come close to doubling the relish next time. Oh, and I just used plain white vinegar instead of the white wine vinegar and it was not overpowering at all. I used olive oil mayo, which probably makes little difference. I had to add another 2 min to the cooking time of the potatoes even after I had cut them down to be equal size. I used Yukon gold potatoes and left some of the skin on. And I used the "make the dressing first" technique that other reviewers suggested, and then tossed the potatoes in. I served it with turkey burgers and corn on the cob for dinner and I'm ashamed to say I went back twice later that night for my "snack"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee Dee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Old Bridge, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hazlet, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
BEST potato salad ever. Have made this several times adding boiled eggs, more celery, more onions, no carrots or pimentos. I love it warm (when first made) just as much as chilled. I don't think it gets much better than this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
I added only the following to make this, I used pickle juice, mayo, honey mustard, marsala wine,parsley. Big Steve love it, make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by debdelight

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mastic, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
This was very good. I added a stalk of celery finely chopped and omitted the carrots and pimento. I used olive oil mayo and doubled the recipe. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
This is a fantastic recipe that was easily made vegan by using vegan mayonnaise. Huge favorite in our house-so much so that we eat it warm. I never add the carrots, pimientos, relish, celery, or onions. We like our potato salad simple and less sweet so I reduce the sugar by about 1/3 to 1/2. I have no doubt it will be excellent if made to the recipe-I make it according to our taste and it is outrageously good. Our nonvegan friends love it too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
Everyone LOVES this when I make it. I do add more mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
My daughter made this for us, exactly according to directions, and it was WAY WAY better than my potato salad, which I've been making for 20 years. So this recipe is now entering my repertoire! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill in Ankeny, IA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ankeny, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Almost Fat-Free Green Onion Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad that’s almost entirely fat-free.

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

How to Make Country Potato Salad

A picnic classic, this country-style potato salad has a zesty zing!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States