Restaurant Style Mango Lassi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2006
Fresh mangos are a lot better in lassis. Grew up making lassis...tried this...didn't like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2006
I've never used canned mango before...but if that's what the restaurants use..(I use frozen mango pulp from the Spanish food section and it comes out wonderful.)Tried fresh mangoes the first time and it was terrible. too fibrous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
Yummy! I used Trader Joe's mango sauce in place of the pulp, and it gave a great mango flavor. The yogurt cuts the sweetness, and you can make it thinner like the restaurant lassis by adding more milk, or thicker like a shake by adding more ice, whatever is to your taste. A delicious, healthy drink. Highly recommended
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kodiak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2007
Yes, don't make the mistake of using the magno itself. I think it's the acid in the mango juice that ruins the recipe. You have to use the mango pulp. I used to deliver for an Indian restaurant and they added a touch of rose essence oil to it. I don't remember them making it with yogurt though. But, I could be wrong on that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
rich and creamy - just like Ma used to make it. DE-LISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Creve Coeur, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
Next time will add some sugar ?1 tbsp? Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
This was okay. NOT restaurant quality. Do not add ice to the blender, instead pour over ice. If you do what the recipe suggest it will be way to watery. I would add some rose water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momof2&3dogs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
OK come on, who doesn’t love Mango Lassies? I do have to admit to being a mango fanatic though. I made the recipe as posted and without blending the ice with it, as that is how I first ever had one. Without the ice blended into it is better, but either way it’s good to me. If you’re going to use fresh mango, make sure it is almost, if not, over ripe, it is true they can be fibrous if they haven’t come to complete ripeness. Canned mango works well and is more convenient since you can keep it in the refrigerator, chilled for whenever the urge hits you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OStreetGuy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
We love this stuff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bountiful, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
Good but not fabulous. A little blander than I expected. Needs some tang.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newton, Iowa, USA
Living In: Dexter, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Spicy Indian Chicken and Mango Curry

Make a sensational Indian curry that’s both creamy and spicy.

Avocado Mango Salsa

See how to make a hot and sweet salsa for meats, chips, and fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States