Restaurant Style Mango Lassi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
The quantities are completely wrong in this recipe. It needs either much less mango or more yogurt. Other recipes I found have about a 1-to-1 ratio of these ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
OK come on, who doesn’t love Mango Lassies? I do have to admit to being a mango fanatic though. I made the recipe as posted and without blending the ice with it, as that is how I first ever had one. Without the ice blended into it is better, but either way it’s good to me. If you’re going to use fresh mango, make sure it is almost, if not, over ripe, it is true they can be fibrous if they haven’t come to complete ripeness. Canned mango works well and is more convenient since you can keep it in the refrigerator, chilled for whenever the urge hits you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OStreetGuy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
I used Kesar Mango pulp, according to advice given to me from the owner at a local Indian store. This recipe and that ingredient made an excellent mango lassi. Our guests for the meal said they were like the ones at a restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
Yummy! I used Trader Joe's mango sauce in place of the pulp, and it gave a great mango flavor. The yogurt cuts the sweetness, and you can make it thinner like the restaurant lassis by adding more milk, or thicker like a shake by adding more ice, whatever is to your taste. A delicious, healthy drink. Highly recommended
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kodiak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2006
I've never used canned mango before...but if that's what the restaurants use..(I use frozen mango pulp from the Spanish food section and it comes out wonderful.)Tried fresh mangoes the first time and it was terrible. too fibrous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2007
Yes, don't make the mistake of using the magno itself. I think it's the acid in the mango juice that ruins the recipe. You have to use the mango pulp. I used to deliver for an Indian restaurant and they added a touch of rose essence oil to it. I don't remember them making it with yogurt though. But, I could be wrong on that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2006
Fresh mangos are a lot better in lassis. Grew up making lassis...tried this...didn't like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Wow! We had to substitute soy yogurt and coconut milk for the diary items for allergy reasons but, it turned out to be spectacular!.Definitely a new favorite in this house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsMacVeanAZ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Absolutely delicious! Made it without ice at first, per other reviewers' suggestions - added a few ice cubes to suit my taste, but was fine without. So refreshing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
This was okay. NOT restaurant quality. Do not add ice to the blender, instead pour over ice. If you do what the recipe suggest it will be way to watery. I would add some rose water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momof2&3dogs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Spicy Indian Chicken and Mango Curry

Make a sensational Indian curry that’s both creamy and spicy.

Avocado Mango Salsa

See how to make a hot and sweet salsa for meats, chips, and fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States