Restaurant Style Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
This was fast and tasted good. I did make some changes to use what I had on hand. I used 4 slices american cheese in place of velveeta. I used 1 full cup of sharp cheddar cheese. I used 1/4 cup milk in place of the cream. And about 2 1/2 cups pasta. This was great, just as easy to make as box mac and cheese. More like two servings... definately not 4 unless this is a side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
168 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHMANESSA8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
FYI DO NOT SALT THE PASTA WATER!!!! I usually salt my water for boiling my pasta but this recipe does not need that. It reasulted in a slightly too salty dish but I know that next time it will be perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAUREL B

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brentwood, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
This was great. The cheddar cheese used was medium. The Velveeta made the dish creamy. I did not notice a velveeta taste at all. The only difference was more than 2 tablespoons of heavy cream was added to desired consistency. I also doubled the recipe...glad I did. Will have to try with sharp cheese, just to see how it turns out. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
HELPFUL TIPS: If you like Velveeta from the box at the store then it may be better to just buy that b/c that's what you're getting here (exactly). I don't even think you'll get credit for making it yourself since I'd take the box over this. I told my husband what this was called (Restaurant Style Mac & Cheese), and he said "Whose restaurant?" lol If you're looking for restaurant style, you may want to consider something else. If you're in college and love your velveeta, this is it except a load more of excess cheese. I love cheese... heck, it could be my middle name, but even with 2C of macaroni... it was too much. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2003
This was awesome fresh off the stove -- so creamy and much like Boston Market Mac & Cheese -- however, it didn't warm up very well after spending the night in the fridge -- A total keeper if freshly made but not for leftovers... Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2004
This really is creamy and delicious. I used whole milk instead because that is all I had, and I just used as much as I needed to get the right consistency, and it worked out fine. My only advice is to make sure you use a good brand of processed cheese, it makes all the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
It would've been 5 stars if I would've used less processed cheese than the recipe called for---- way too cheesie, but underneath all that cheesiness is a great dish.. It does remind me of Boston Market or even KFC like other reviewers said!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnetka, California, USA
Living In: Reseda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
Excellent. Would be just as good with less processed cheese or a good bit more macoroni, and I needed a little more cream. (used low fat half & half).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Waynesville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
Easier than the blue box and twice as good. Couldn't resist adding a good dab of butter and more cream. I served this in individual dishes topped with buttered bread crumbs and broiled until golden brown. Made even better as "Truffled Lobster Mac and Cheese" by adding white truffle butter and hefty chunks of cooked lobster meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2003
This was great. My husband said it was just like the dish served at Boston Market.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant Style Mac and Cheese

Make rich, creamy macaroni and cheese on the stovetop.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States