Restaurant Style Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
Good premise. I made it exactly as written, and found it wanting a bit in the flavor department. The addition of 3 Tb Parmesan and 1 Tb sour cream helped make for a cheesier flavor. Also a judicious sprinkling of salt is in order. Go easy, then taste as cheese has a lot of sodium in it to begin with and it's easy to go overboard fast. After those additions the flavor went from bland to sublime. Note that as this dish cools or if there are any leftovers, you will want to add a Tb or two of milk before reheating and stir to blend well (more may be needed,) as the cheese will cause the sauce to tighten up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: May 17, 2008
i dont know what went wrong but this was an awful dish! it was very liquidy and the milk was overpowering.i couldnt finish it at all.i will try again because i am sure i did something wrong but it was not what i had expected!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by charmedsherry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
this was pretty good, my kids that are extremly picky eaters ate this up asking for more. I didn't have any velveta so i shredded 5 slices of american cheese. It was very good and didnt taste anything like kfc mac n cheese thank god!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
Followed the recipe and did not like the consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missy

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Prince George, Virginia, USA
Living In: Farmville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
This was really salty to me but my family ate it up. It is exactly like KFC mac and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvisgood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
HELPFUL TIPS: If you like Velveeta from the box at the store then it may be better to just buy that b/c that's what you're getting here (exactly). I don't even think you'll get credit for making it yourself since I'd take the box over this. I told my husband what this was called (Restaurant Style Mac & Cheese), and he said "Whose restaurant?" lol If you're looking for restaurant style, you may want to consider something else. If you're in college and love your velveeta, this is it except a load more of excess cheese. I love cheese... heck, it could be my middle name, but even with 2C of macaroni... it was too much. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by TXUKGal
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
This recipe is really rich (in my opinion). I used milk instead of cream and I added extra milk to see if I could thin the sauce out some and to reduce the richness. I would say this is a good base recipe but might need to be played around with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
This mac and cheese was rich and creamy. I love the Gourmet Mac and Cheese at Red Robin and decided to try and make it at home. I doubled this recipe and used it as the base mac and cheese then topped it with goat cheese, bacon, grilled chicken breast and crushed croutons. It was pretty close to the restaurant version. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
Very good, the family didn't turn their noses up at this as they do with most Mac and Cheese recipes. I made this according to the recipe except that I doubled the cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WISEREADER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
This was fast and tasted good. I did make some changes to use what I had on hand. I used 4 slices american cheese in place of velveeta. I used 1 full cup of sharp cheddar cheese. I used 1/4 cup milk in place of the cream. And about 2 1/2 cups pasta. This was great, just as easy to make as box mac and cheese. More like two servings... definately not 4 unless this is a side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
167 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHMANESSA8

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 81-90 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant Style Mac and Cheese

Make rich, creamy macaroni and cheese on the stovetop.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Mom’s Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

This creamy baked comfort food classic has two kinds of cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States