Restaurant Style Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
This is a keeper! I will be making my lasagna like this again. I did make some changes,like everyone always does; I used no-cook noodles,put about 1 cup sauce in the bottom of the dish,used jarred tomato sauce because I was time crunched,and browned the meat w/the jar of sauce. I layered it as stated in the recipe,added another jar of sauce on top of the final layer,and added more shredded cheese on top,but covered it,as stated on the box of no cook noodles. I baked it @ 375 degrees for 50 minutes,took the cover off and baked for another 10.Then I let it sit about 10 minutes.Awesome! This is the 1st lasagna that didn't run all over the plate when you try to serve it.My whole family loved it! Thanks for the great recipe! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
158 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BOSSIER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Eagle, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2004
If using the ingredients exactly as listed, the lasagna has almost no sauce to it. It is too dry for my taste, but it still tasted good. Next time I will use more than the 1/2 pound of lean beef that the recipes call for, and add more sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
I thought that this recipe was great as a starter. I used it as a jumping off point. I kept the cheese the same, although I did add more fresh parmesan, but I used a pound of italian sausage and browned it up added minced garlic to that and cooked some fresh sliced button mushrooms to it as well. (don't forget to drain the grease) Then instead of using the tomato sauce I got some name brand pasta sauce that had mushrooms in it and another that was like 4 cheese or something... both of the jars that I used were about 26 oz. This is alot more then the orginal recipe calls for but it really made it nice and moist. I did not use the full two jars. I used about 1 and 1/2. I heated the sause up before I added it to the layers and mixed in salt, suger, and spices to taste. I finished it off with fresh mozz on top! Have fun this turned out great for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dewitt, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
Wonderful basic recipe to start with. Like many others I added to it - added sausage and beef, herbs, garlic (my family loves garlic)I used jar sauce because I was pressed for time. Can't understand why others are saying it was dry? Perhaps they are using no bake noodles or thick sauce? I would really recommend this recipe as a wonderful starting point to create one's signature lasagna dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOUDNOYES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
It's a good starter recipe, but it needed a little work. If you're going to make the sauce from scratch then you definitely need to let it simmer for a few hours to have good flavor. Also I used 1 pound of ground turkey (1/2 lb wasn't enough) and almost two 26oz. cans of tomato sauce. I decided to try with jarred sauce and turned out very good. There was enough of the cheese, but i added a little more mozzarella and parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina Maria

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mc Farland, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
This is a good recipe to play with. We like even more cheese, we added provolone slices to the top with the parmesan. Also, we like lots of sauce, so we used prepared sauce especially for lasagna. I added half a pound of Italian sausage, too. When I was browning the meats, I added bell peppers, onions, fresh garlic and Italian seasoning. I like adding fresh ingredients where I can. It wasn't overpowering with the prepared sauce. It only added more flavor. You can do lots with this recipe, just don't be afraid to play with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marion, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2006
this recipe is not the best..does not taste at all like the ones in restaurants..sorry :o) it's just all right, not good enough when you have guests...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
Yummy. I added more Parmesan and used the whole box of no-boil noodles as a timesaver. Instead of plain tomato sauce, I used spaghetti sauce and think the dish overall benefitted from the change. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2006
Another recipe I followed exactly and it came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by veronica

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by trishdadish
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
I made this for dinner tonight, mine was easier yet, I just used 1 large & 1 small jar of ready made pasta sauce, 1 can of chopped tomatoes & added only a bit of garlic pepper & garlic salt for a little extra flavor and it tasted great, not the best I've ever had but it was still very good, hubby liked it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Athens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Deep Dish Lasagna

A crowd-pleasing lasagna with layers of cheese, sausage, spinach, and sauce.

Chef John’s Lasagna

Discover the two keys to a great lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States