Restaurant-Style Italian Salad Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I bought a bottle of dressing from the dollar tree to save myself a trip. Big mistake it was really awful. I jazzed it up with the recipe and threw in a bit of fresh grated parm. Just what it needed now the entire bottle wont go to waste. Nice way to put a fresh spin on something that was blah. Thanks for the submission!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Photo by happyschmoopies
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Can't believe how easy it is to freshen up a bottle of store bought dressing. I think the key is to start with a good base - I used family style italian from that handsome blue-eyed actor. The sugar took the edge off the acidic tartness you can get from the vinegar. The fresh garlic brightened up the flavor. If I am in a pinch and don't have time to make a homeade dressing - this will do the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
A recipe for Italian dressing should NOT have Italian dressing in its ingredients list!!! This is not a recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laconia, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Hardwick, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Mine did not turn out great... maybe my cheap bottled dressing was the culprit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Genious! Who knew that just a couple of ingredients you have on hand could do so much for a bottle of store bought dressing! I used Kraft light italian dressing and overall, it was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
A great way to jazz up a cheap bottle of dressing from the dented can store. I used half for a salad and half as a marinade for veggie kabobs and pork chops on the grill. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MI$$DREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS! Made it when I had some guest over for dinner. The salad was a HUGE hit! Everyone RAVED about the dressing. super easy and oh soooo tasty!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorrie Turnage Kibler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2004
Just by adding a few extra ingredients took this from being bottled dressing to something pretty darn tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Real Italian Calzones

True calzones stuffed with cheeses, pepperoni, and mushrooms.

Famous Japanese Restaurant-Style Salad Dressing

A simple, tangy salad dressing you make in the blender.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States