Restaurant-Style Hashbrown Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Great basic recipe for one of my favorite comfort-food sides! I will use this again! Here's what I did different: *Did not add additional salt - the condensed soup has plenty. *Cut the butter by about 1/5, or 3 Tbsp - possibly could've cut it more, but was concerned it wouldn't be buttery or creamy enough. *Added about 1 tsp of garlic powder - last minute decision, and I'm not sure how much difference it made, so it was probably just right - Not garlicy. *Thawed, individually, 2 bags of Ore-Ida cubed hashbrown potatoes in the microwave - they weren't completely thawed when I started (note to self: Plan ahead next time!) *Put the butter near the warm oven to soften - didn't soften properly like it would if I planned this several hours in advance ;), and it was more difficult to mix in w/ the other ingredients. *I doubled the cooking time, let it cool a bit, refrigerated, and then reheated for another 45 minutes the following day before taking it over to my Mom's. I had some nice crispy cheese around the edges - who doesn't love that?? *I doubled this recipe for 8 guests, and had well over half leftover. Maybe it says more about my cooking, but I think the number of servings for a single recipe could be changed to 6-8.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
I made this a couple of times and it is absolute the best! I made a couple of different changes. I used a package of Potato-Ole Seasoned Crispy Crowns and cooked them by the directions on the package. And then chopped them up. I grated some 1/3 less fat velveta cheese instead of cheddar. And I used the one can of cream of chicken and one can of cream of mushroom. Finally, I used Light Sour Cream and Corn Flakes. It's awesome. My wife and I could eat it every week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HFDprototype

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Henderson, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
Great dish, I did however make a few modifications based on other reviews. Used only 1/4 cup butter, one can cream of chicken and mushroom soup (although I doubt it matters which you use) and added 8oz of sour cream to the mixture. Added some cheese to the mix and then some on top. Tasted good, everyone seemed to enjoy it. Next time I make it I will try adding cornflake mixture to the top for crunch. Also want to try adding sausage crumbles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
Very good! I added french onion dip to it which gave it a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winterset, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicoline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
Delicious Recipe. I made a few changes like added a lb of ground beef, broccolli and 1 box of cream cheese instead of the sour cream and omgosh!!!! The kids and I loved it. Will be making this a few times a month!! Thanks for your recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mechelle Irwin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
WOW! I made this recipe for an Easter brunch for my extended family and friends, and I was even asked to give the recipe to a friend! Turned out great. Very easy to combine ingredients in bowl. Make sure you watch out for the soup and potatoes, though; they liked to fall out of the bowl in chunks, thus splashing the soup that was already in it. Also, I sprinkled more cheese onto the top of the casserole just after I took it out of the oven. Very cheesy and good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
This recipe is easy and delicious. It's a very good base recipe that tolerates additional ingredients very well. I've added browned crumbled sausage, diced green chiles, and diced red peppers. I used cream of mushroom soup (personal preference). This recipe makes a lot, and reheats very well the next day. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
THE best hashbrown casserole I've ever made...great as a midnight snack, so my husband says. Also, helps if you use gloves when combining mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Was a touch salty but turned out really great and everyone loved them! (Husband and kids 4 and 2)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shandy B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 571) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Hashbrown Casserole

Creamy and cheesy breakfast hashbrown casserole.

Hashbrown Casserole

This hearty casserole is cheesy and filling, perfect for brunch.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States