Restaurant-Style Hashbrown Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
This recipe is excellent. I made one small change because I refuse to eat canned soup. Instead of cream of chicken soup I used plain Fage greek yogurt. Treat out excellent and has the tangy taste of sour cream with out all the calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
This is NOT Cracker Barrels Hashbrown Casserole IT'S BETTER!!!! My husband loves Cracker Barrels Hashbrown Casserole, and in his words "This is A LOT Better than Cracker Barrel's HB Casserole" As for myself I have never liked CB's Hashbrown Casserole, BUT I really liked this and will make it again especially around the holidays. As mentioned by one reviewer, next time I will not use as much onion, but other than that a SIMPLY GREAT RECIPE LOVE LOVE LOVE IT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cottontown, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
Quite bland. Didn't even taste the soup that was added to it. Quite dry. To make this recipe work - more liquid (soup/milk) and seasonings should be added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carly Urbanski Johnson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eden Prairie, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
Try this recipe! You won't regret it. My family loves it when I make this casserole. I get many requests to make this again. The only thing I do differently is I add 8oz of sour cream to the recipe. YUM!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
This is good but very rich. I cut the butter in half. Next time I will use low fat cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
Way too much butter in this recipe, I'd recommend using half the amount suggested. I'm not so sure you could call this a restaurant-quality dish, unless you make some major tweaks. Otherwise, it provides a decent base recipe to build upon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
All I can say is blech. I've never had this in a restaurant or even tried anything similar so this was a new dish for me. Mushy hash browns drowned in an overly cheesy and heavy sauce, no thank you. Made exactly like the recipe except I used less butter, and I can't see how that would have affected it so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
Very good recipe. I cut the butter in half, left out the salt and added about a 1/4 cup of milk and 8 oz of sour cream. I also added a can of cream of celery (i love the flavor) and used sharp cheddar because that's all I had in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
Super yummy! I implemented some changes based on other user reviews and I absolutely loved the idea of substituting the butter for sour cream. It makes it so much lighter without sacrificing the flavor. I also use cream of mushroom soup simply because I'm vegetarian and it still tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
I made exactly as stated and we loved them. I had seconds and when I went for the leftovers my hunny had already ate them all. I will defiantly be making again soon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coleebear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sykesville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 554) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Hashbrown Casserole

This hearty casserole is cheesy and filling, perfect for brunch.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Hash Brown Casserole II

This creamy potato casserole with a crispy crust is great for brunch or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States