Restaurant-Style Hashbrown Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
I have made this recipe for years and its always a big hit! I leave out the butter, salt and the chopped onion and mix a large container of French Onion dip in with the soup and potatoes! So quick, so easy! IT IS FAB!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
I made this for church today and it was a huge hit! I doubled the recipe and used the hashbrowns from the dairy case rather than the frozen kind. I sauteed the onions before adding them to the casserole, and I used the cream of chicken soup with herbs. I'll definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
The butter made it a little greasy for me. I think I'll leave it out next time and use sour cream. Overall, a great side dish (we served with a roast chicken on a rain day).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njthayer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Eldersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
So I have made this a few times and to be honest, I think that the recipe on the side of the hashbrowns I buy is better. I won't be making it again, its not bad at all but its just not the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
these are always a hit at my dinner table!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
Absolutely perfect. Try adding 1 tsp of ground mustard for a little zip, but it doesn't need it to be perfectly wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sylvania, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pioneer, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
My husband and I loved this recipe! We are not big onion fans, so I cut that out and added a tablespoon of granulated onion and a couple of tables spoons of fresh garlic. The cheese and soup are salty enough, so I did not add any salt. I also used light margerine and reduced fat cream of chicken to make this heavy dish a little lighter on calories! I also used half of the hashbrowns since others said the recipe was "dry" and using 1 pound was perfect. The only thing that confuses me is that it says it yields 4-6 servings...we found that it was around 16 servings (if you don't gorge yourself) and that is way to much for me and my husband. I will be cutting it down to half pound of potatoes next time, along with cutting everything else in half!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
Excellent recipe. I follow the recipe as written except that I do add a 16oz carton of sour cream and a splash of milk to the mixture before cooking. It is so cheesy, creamy, and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandi Roe Nieto

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
Anything with potatoes, onions and cream soups I love! I thought it was a little thick so next time I will add some milk just to make it a little more moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
Very good! My husband said that he'd prefer it without onions though. I'll make it again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Belldandy34

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fleming Island, Florida, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 549) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hashbrown Casserole

This hearty casserole is cheesy and filling, perfect for brunch.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Hash Brown Casserole II

This creamy potato casserole with a crispy crust is great for brunch or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States