Restaurant-Style Hashbrown Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
This recipe is good but very greasy. I cut the butter down to about 2-3 tbs and add 8oz of sour cream. I also started using cream of potato instead of cream of chicken soup. I just got tired of picking out all the little chicken pieces from the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
This recipe works much better if you use (1) one lb bag of hash browns. I think that's why some people are complaining of it being dry. Also I used a 4 tbsp of butter. Instead of chopping up onion and running the risk that hubby would flip out, I grated about 1 tbsp of onion. Potatoes and onions are good buddies and next time I will actually chop up the onion and saute it a little in a pan, then add it to the mixture. I used Campbells healthy request cream of chicken to cut back on salt, I also didn't add any salt. I only put in maybe 1/2 cup of cheese, hubby is not a big cheese fan. But I will increase it next time. I added 1 spoonful of sour cream. I baked it @ 350 covered (with foil) for 30 min and then baked uncovered for another 30. It was not dried out and not greasy. It did lack flavor but I had to make changes due my husband and his preferences. Potatoes need a lot of love and I will be sure to add more onion, increase the cheese and maybe use regular cream of chicken soup, instead of the healthy request, the next time I make this. Definitely a comfort food and one I am happy to add to my rotation. I made this with pork chops and green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa123

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
Made it for dinner last week and everyone loved it!!! I added some sour cream as previous reviewer recommended. And also used less of the cheddar and shredded some fontina cheese and butterkaese, as I needed to use those up. This could very easy be made with macaroni noodles for Mac n cheese casserole as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Life is Good

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
Yummy & so easy to make!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
I was craving some Cracker Barrel hashbrown casserole, and this did the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
FINALLY! This is the perfect recipe. I've been searching for this for years. Always tried the ones with sour cream- I think the trick to the true taste is NO sour cream. It's perfect! My husband is very happy to eat this any day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
This tastes even better than Cracker Barrel! Try baking it a little longer than called for. Maybe 5 minutes extra. Colby cheese does give it a little something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
Not quite Cracker Barrel quality, but tasty. I used 3 Tbsp. of butter and 8 oz. of sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
Just made this for supper to go with our BBQ ribs. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
I give it 4 stars instead of 5 because of the butter. There is absolutely no need for the butter made it much to greasy. Otherwise next time I'll leave it out. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 1-10 (of 571) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Hashbrown Casserole

Creamy and cheesy breakfast hashbrown casserole.

Hashbrown Casserole

This hearty casserole is cheesy and filling, perfect for brunch.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States