Restaurant-Style Hashbrown Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Sandra
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
This recipe is so easy and very good! I made these with fresh shredded potatoes done by hand. My only mistake is that I forgot to rinse the potatoes once they've been shredded so the casserole had a very potatoey taste. Next time I'll rinse them and the review again. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pedro
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
I had hash brown casserole at a restaurant a while back & thought "this is great I should try making it." Thnx to this recipe I have & its a family favorite. We've tried it for breakfast, lunch & dinner worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
I liked it alot but I added a little twist...I added milk,a jar of loaded baked potatoe dip wit bacon to add extra flavor and extra creaminess
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Yum! Such an easy recipe with great flavor. Great for breakfast or dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Always a favorite of mine! Good if u thaw out tater tots and crumble them instead of hash browns. Always a hit! I throw in a tad of garlic or garlic powder and bake a few min more for a crispy top and corners
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
I have never liked Hashbrown Casserole, not even Cracker Barrels, I won't eat it. My husband on the other hand loves it. So I wanted to try my hand at making one of his favorite side dishes, and I came across this recipe. I made it exactly as the recipe directed. My husband LOVED it. I tried it, and well... I loved it too, now this HB Casserole I will eat. No changes needed for this keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kansas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cottontown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
I used this recipe, but added 8oz sour cream, substituted the cheddar cheese for shredded Colby Jack cheese and 1/2 cup of Velveeta cheese, substituted cream of chicken soup for cheddar cheese soup, used sweet onion (Vidalia), and sprinkled smokey paprika on top. I had to cook it 15 mins longer than 35 mins as the recipe calls for maybe becase I added extra cheese and sour cream). My recipe tasted much better than Cracker Barrel's. The difference is that mine came out creamy & cheesy, but not too cheesy. Cracker Barrel's tends to be much firmer and dryer. Im thinking that they aren't using sour cream, maybe they use milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
Really good recipe, very much like the one from the famous national restaurant chain. I like a good sharp cheddar for myself and sprinkle a little extra on the top. Also, I like to use green onions, tops included, and lots of them. Also, I've seen a variation that replaces part of the cream of chicken soup with sour cream which I may try sometime. When you put it in the pan it looks like an awful big pile but it cooks down and condenses so you end up with about a third less by volume than it starts out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B. Bailey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
This was alright. I subbed a cream of soup sub, added some sauerkraut and caraway seeds. I think those additions bumped the flavour up and made this a good pairing with pork chops. All our favourites, but it wasn't something we'd make again. It was a little too greasy as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: May 27, 2014
Everyone at our BBQ raved about this recipe, even the picky toddlers. I did make some changes to the recipe as follows: I used one can of cream of mushroom and one can of cream of chicken soup. I crisped up some bacon and caramelized some onion in a little bit of the bacon grease. I did as a previous reviewer suggested and mixed all ingredients together the night before, including frozen potato shreds. And finally, I mixed a little bit of melted butter and corn flakes to sprinkle on top because that's how I always are potato casserole growing up. Next time, I will use about 75% of the butter that's called for because it seemed a little too much for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 554) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Hashbrown Casserole

This hearty casserole is cheesy and filling, perfect for brunch.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Hash Brown Casserole II

This creamy potato casserole with a crispy crust is great for brunch or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States