Restaurant-Style Hashbrown Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
I made this today and with some changes and it was excellent. I thawed the hash browns in a bowl in the microwave for about three minutes ( as mine were frozen when I wanted this and they seem to cook better as well), I used one whole stick of margerine melted, one whole container of sour cream( 16oz), omitted the onion ( overpowering) and the salt (soup and cheese both have enough). I mixed the soup, sour cream, shredded cheese, potatoes, margerine, pepper and a little bit of milk together until mixed. The milk makes it more creamy and less dry. I baked at 400 degrees in a very well greased pan ( grease grease grease the pan as this will stick bad--trust me on this) covered with foil for 30 minutes. I then melted a couple of tablespoons of margerine and mixed in a couple of handfuls of crushed corn flakes ( don't really need the extra margerine but I like it so I use it :)) remove foil from pan and sprinkle on top. Bake 10 more minutes or until cornflakes are well browned. This was delicious with the changes I made and next time I think I will use a can of cheddar cheese soup ( or southwestern cheddar soup) instead of the cream of chicken the recipe calls for. Granted these aren't the healthiest changes but I would rather eat a small amount of good rich food than a lot of so-so tasting stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
344 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2004
I have been making this for yrs. and reviewed it in the past. I have lightened it up for lifestyle changes that we have made in our family. I now use fat free cream of chicken soup and omit the butter, replacing it with fat free sour cream. I don't add any salt, use extra freshly ground pepper and about 1/2 the cheese, mixing some in the casserole and sprinkling the rest on the top! It is still delicious! MY 14 yr old daughter wouldn't touch it in the past,now she loves it.Do use a good sweet onion if possible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
198 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
I worked at Cracker Barrel all the way through college, and during my time there made massive amounts of hashbrown casserole. I will only say that this recipe is VERY close to the recipe we used at work. Some tips I learned from making it every day for six years: -- Mix all the ingredients (with the potatoes straight from the freezer) the day before, cover and refrigerate. Then bake it in a well greased pan right before serving. Makes dinner prep a whole lot easier, and the mixture will be more likely to stick together than to the pan. -- Don't "smush" it into the pan -- it'll turn out greasier and also stick to the pan. Instead, use a big spoon or spatula to fling dollops of the mixture into the pan. -- Colby cheese gives an extra Something over cheddar cheese. Highly recommend subbing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
173 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brazierina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Murray, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Coot226
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
Excellent recipe !! very good flavor - I did change 2 things - I used 2 cans of cream of chicken & mushroom soup because that is what I had on hand and I also added extra shredded cheese. This was even better the second time. I reheated what was left over in the oven at 350 uncovered. The top was nicely browned and slightly crunchy, potatoes moist, and the flavor was oh so awesome. Love this recipe - Thank you for sharing !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
146 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coot226

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2003
This is very good! I like it better than Cracker Barrel's version because their's is usually too greasy from sitting all day in a greasy pan. The only thing I did differently was cut the onion down to only 2T (I'm pregnant and am having a slight aversion to onions!). I also added one can of Campell's condensed cheddar cheese soup in addition to the cream of chicken soup because I love cheesy potatoes. My husband ate about 3/4 of the pan in one sitting! This is easy to prepare and very filling. Nice recipe that I recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
This is an excellent recipe, a perfect sidedish for baked chicken! The changes I made are : I added 8 oz of sour cream and took the butter down to 2 tbsps because of the grease. Everyone should try this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2002
As is, this recipe is very greasy and too salty. I cut the butter in half and left out the salt. Added a little sour cream and green onions over the top, then sprinkled with crushed cornflakes to add texture. Very good! My guests at brunch loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2002
I served this at my Mother's Day brunch and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2003
This has become a regular at our house! The only changes, I add 1/2 cup chicken stock & 1/2 cup sour cream for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T L Dixon

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2002
This is very similar to an old family favorite, except that we add a crunchy topping. Before baking, crush 4 cups of corn flakes (cereal) and mix it with 3/4 stick of melted butter. Spread this topping on the casserole mixture that you have already put in the pan and bake! So easy and it will be extra yummy! (I bake it for 45 mins. at 350.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 559) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Hashbrown Casserole

Creamy and cheesy breakfast hashbrown casserole.

Hashbrown Casserole

This hearty casserole is cheesy and filling, perfect for brunch.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States