Restaurant-Style Hashbrown Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Good basic recipe. I added about 1/2 cup sour cream. I baked for about 40 minutes and it still could have used more time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
A very simple recipe to follow, easy to tweak to your own liking. As is, it is very good, but a little bland for my preferences. I added garlic and sweet corn to this recipe, AMAZING! Was a great side dish for biscuits and gravy. Thank you for adding this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
This was exactly what I was hoping for! I used cream of mushroom soup since that's what I had and loved it! The onions were definitely noticeable but in no way overpowering. I didn't have any cornflakes so I used panko crumbs with melted butter for the topping. Thanks for the great recipe; I'll be making this for Thanksgiving as a side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
We add 8 oz sour cream to this exact recipe. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
I made this for the first time this week. My family loved it. I did not have frozen hash browns so I put fresh potatoes thru a course grater on my food processor. It took abit longer to cook - 1 hour 15 minutes but it was worth the wait. It was even better on day 2. This is now my family's favorite way to have potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
This was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joey Joan
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
This is a tasty recipe and very worth making. I used heavy cream in place of the soup because I don't use canned soups and I didn't have any of my own on hand. There was still plenty of flavor and it was nice and creamy. Now I don't have to wait in line at cracker Barrel when I want hash brown casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joey Joan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hainesport, New Jersey, USA
Photo by MommySmith
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
My whole family loved this exactly as prepared. We are a family of 2 adults and 2 children. We finished this casserole in 3 meals. If this recipe came from a restaurant, let me know which one because we have been eating breakfast in the wrong place!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommySmith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: New Market, Alabama, USA
Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
These are the cheesy hashbrowns I remember from when I was growing up. They were ever present at family potlucks! I used Ore-Ida hashbrowns and switched the cream of chicken for cream of mushroom. These baked great and tasted just like I remember!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
I love hashbrown casserole, but, as written, this recipe only deserves three stars, and that's only for its potential. The first time I prepared it, it turned out greasy and dry at the same time, even though that might seem like an oxymoron, and it was also very bland. The second time I made it, I halved the butter and added another can of cream of chicken and three generous splashes of milk -- if I had to guess, I'd say it was close to 1/2 a cup or so. I also added way more black pepper and a smidgen of garlic powder, and it turned out more like a 4-star recipe -- nothing I would necessarily serve for company, but a nice accompaniment to a weeknight meatloaf for BF and I. Overall, I like the premise of this recipe and think it's great to play around with, but I think you will be disappointed with the results if you follow it exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lin-DUH

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 51-60 (of 575) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Hashbrown Casserole

Creamy and cheesy breakfast hashbrown casserole.

Hashbrown Casserole

This hearty casserole is cheesy and filling, perfect for brunch.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States