Restaurant-Style Hashbrown Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Good basic recipe. I added about 1/2 cup sour cream. I baked for about 40 minutes and it still could have used more time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
A very simple recipe to follow, easy to tweak to your own liking. As is, it is very good, but a little bland for my preferences. I added garlic and sweet corn to this recipe, AMAZING! Was a great side dish for biscuits and gravy. Thank you for adding this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
This was exactly what I was hoping for! I used cream of mushroom soup since that's what I had and loved it! The onions were definitely noticeable but in no way overpowering. I didn't have any cornflakes so I used panko crumbs with melted butter for the topping. Thanks for the great recipe; I'll be making this for Thanksgiving as a side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
We add 8 oz sour cream to this exact recipe. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
I made this for the first time this week. My family loved it. I did not have frozen hash browns so I put fresh potatoes thru a course grater on my food processor. It took abit longer to cook - 1 hour 15 minutes but it was worth the wait. It was even better on day 2. This is now my family's favorite way to have potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
This was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joey Joan
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
This is a tasty recipe and very worth making. I used heavy cream in place of the soup because I don't use canned soups and I didn't have any of my own on hand. There was still plenty of flavor and it was nice and creamy. Now I don't have to wait in line at cracker Barrel when I want hash brown casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joey Joan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hainesport, New Jersey, USA
Photo by MommySmith
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
My whole family loved this exactly as prepared. We are a family of 2 adults and 2 children. We finished this casserole in 3 meals. If this recipe came from a restaurant, let me know which one because we have been eating breakfast in the wrong place!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommySmith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: New Market, Alabama, USA
Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
These are the cheesy hashbrowns I remember from when I was growing up. They were ever present at family potlucks! I used Ore-Ida hashbrowns and switched the cream of chicken for cream of mushroom. These baked great and tasted just like I remember!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
I love hashbrown casserole, but, as written, this recipe only deserves three stars, and that's only for its potential. The first time I prepared it, it turned out greasy and dry at the same time, even though that might seem like an oxymoron, and it was also very bland. The second time I made it, I halved the butter and added another can of cream of chicken and three generous splashes of milk -- if I had to guess, I'd say it was close to 1/2 a cup or so. I also added way more black pepper and a smidgen of garlic powder, and it turned out more like a 4-star recipe -- nothing I would necessarily serve for company, but a nice accompaniment to a weeknight meatloaf for BF and I. Overall, I like the premise of this recipe and think it's great to play around with, but I think you will be disappointed with the results if you follow it exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lin-DUH

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 41-50 (of 565) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Hashbrown Casserole

Creamy and cheesy breakfast hashbrown casserole.

Hashbrown Casserole

This hearty casserole is cheesy and filling, perfect for brunch.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States