Restaurant-Style Hashbrown Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by MommySmith
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
My whole family loved this exactly as prepared. We are a family of 2 adults and 2 children. We finished this casserole in 3 meals. If this recipe came from a restaurant, let me know which one because we have been eating breakfast in the wrong place!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommySmith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: New Market, Alabama, USA
Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
These are the cheesy hashbrowns I remember from when I was growing up. They were ever present at family potlucks! I used Ore-Ida hashbrowns and switched the cream of chicken for cream of mushroom. These baked great and tasted just like I remember!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
I love hashbrown casserole, but, as written, this recipe only deserves three stars, and that's only for its potential. The first time I prepared it, it turned out greasy and dry at the same time, even though that might seem like an oxymoron, and it was also very bland. The second time I made it, I halved the butter and added another can of cream of chicken and three generous splashes of milk -- if I had to guess, I'd say it was close to 1/2 a cup or so. I also added way more black pepper and a smidgen of garlic powder, and it turned out more like a 4-star recipe -- nothing I would necessarily serve for company, but a nice accompaniment to a weeknight meatloaf for BF and I. Overall, I like the premise of this recipe and think it's great to play around with, but I think you will be disappointed with the results if you follow it exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lin-DUH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
This recipe is excellent. I made one small change because I refuse to eat canned soup. Instead of cream of chicken soup I used plain Fage greek yogurt. Treat out excellent and has the tangy taste of sour cream with out all the calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
This is NOT Cracker Barrels Hashbrown Casserole IT'S BETTER!!!! My husband loves Cracker Barrels Hashbrown Casserole, and in his words "This is A LOT Better than Cracker Barrel's HB Casserole" As for myself I have never liked CB's Hashbrown Casserole, BUT I really liked this and will make it again especially around the holidays. As mentioned by one reviewer, next time I will not use as much onion, but other than that a SIMPLY GREAT RECIPE LOVE LOVE LOVE IT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cottontown, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
Quite bland. Didn't even taste the soup that was added to it. Quite dry. To make this recipe work - more liquid (soup/milk) and seasonings should be added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carly Urbanski Johnson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eden Prairie, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
Try this recipe! You won't regret it. My family loves it when I make this casserole. I get many requests to make this again. The only thing I do differently is I add 8oz of sour cream to the recipe. YUM!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
This is good but very rich. I cut the butter in half. Next time I will use low fat cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
Way too much butter in this recipe, I'd recommend using half the amount suggested. I'm not so sure you could call this a restaurant-quality dish, unless you make some major tweaks. Otherwise, it provides a decent base recipe to build upon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
All I can say is blech. I've never had this in a restaurant or even tried anything similar so this was a new dish for me. Mushy hash browns drowned in an overly cheesy and heavy sauce, no thank you. Made exactly like the recipe except I used less butter, and I can't see how that would have affected it so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 558) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Hashbrown Casserole

Creamy and cheesy breakfast hashbrown casserole.

Hashbrown Casserole

This hearty casserole is cheesy and filling, perfect for brunch.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States