Restaurant-Style Hashbrown Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
This was delicious! Made a few small tweaks because I had a smaller, unfrozen bag of shredded potatoes. Half the salt and 1/3 cup of butter instead of a 1/2. I used dried chopped onion instead of fresh because it is what I had on hand. I melted the remaining butter, mixed in 1/2 a row of Ritz crackers and used that to top the casserole. The whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
This is an awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
This recipe is very greasy. Too much butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danna McCall

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newton, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Claremont, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Very yummy! You must saute the onion in the butter before combining with the rest of the ingredients though to mellow them out but this is much better than the original and no driving to the restaurant-Even easier if you combine all the ingredients the night before and keep in the fridge until ready to cook
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Need to cut onions to only 1/2 cup. I put just a little more in because I had some left. That wasn't a good idea
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I love Cracker Barrel hashbrown casserole and this is better. I did make some changes, such as omitting the onion and adding about 1/2 cup of plain, Greek yogurt (for the tang of sour cream without the fat)and used Colby-Jack cheese instead of cheddar. I mixed it all the night before, with the potatoes frozen, straight from the bag. Sprayed a 13x9 stoneware dish and spooned it in. Pressed it down, very lightly, covered with foil and refrigerated overnight. The next morning I took it out and set it at room temp for about 2 hours. Then baked uncovered, as directed, adding about 10 min to the bake time. It was sooo good and SO gone, quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Conroe, Texas, USA
Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Good basic recipe. I added about 1/2 cup sour cream. I baked for about 40 minutes and it still could have used more time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
A very simple recipe to follow, easy to tweak to your own liking. As is, it is very good, but a little bland for my preferences. I added garlic and sweet corn to this recipe, AMAZING! Was a great side dish for biscuits and gravy. Thank you for adding this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
This was exactly what I was hoping for! I used cream of mushroom soup since that's what I had and loved it! The onions were definitely noticeable but in no way overpowering. I didn't have any cornflakes so I used panko crumbs with melted butter for the topping. Thanks for the great recipe; I'll be making this for Thanksgiving as a side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
We add 8 oz sour cream to this exact recipe. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 550) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hashbrown Casserole

This hearty casserole is cheesy and filling, perfect for brunch.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Hash Brown Casserole II

This creamy potato casserole with a crispy crust is great for brunch or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States