Restaurant-Style French Onion Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Made this for Recipe Group...FANTASTIC! I have a recipe that I just love, but this is definitely gonna replace it, as it was even better than that one, and it took a lot less time to make too! I used Wondra flour in place of the regular flour b/c it blends easier, (I used a tablespoon or 2 more than called for). I did not have any thyme on hand, b/c I'm not a fan of it, so I omitted that. After the soup was done, I added a little more salt (personal preference) and some browning seasoning to make it a richer color. I toasted my bread on both sides and rubbed it w/ garlic before putting it on top of the soup. I am so glad I decided to make this today...it was a hit w/ all of us and my new go-to onion soup recipe~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
Made this soup for my family and I ended up making too little of it. But I think for next time I would cut down on the onions because I had quite an excess of them. Also the cooking times are a little low and I had to cook a little longer for the right consistincy. But it was really nice and look forward to making it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Recipe Group Selection: 15, September 2012 ~ French Onion is my favorite soup, but I've never tried making it. Thought this one was very good. I had to cook my onions for about 45-50 minutes rather than the stated 30 minutes. For the red wine, I used Pinot Noir and bought cooking sherry for the first time. My husband, who didn't think he liked French Onion soup, ate 2 bowls. He said his "taste buds must have changed". We really liked this recipe, and I will make it again. Thanks Jenny for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
So savory and delicious!!!! I could eat this every night and be a happy camper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
Recipe Group selection of 9/16/12. I made half a recipe as lunch for a friend and I. I used large sweet onions so I used 3, which may have been too much. Instead of dry thyme, I used 2 sprigs of fresh and removed them before serving. I had some Gruyere so I used that on the topping in place of the Swiss and Provolone. My kitchen smelled great and we both enjoyed our lunch (the rest of which was a green salad and the other half of the baguette.) This is something I will remember for special occasions. Thanks, Jenny!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
this soup is very good, I cooked the onions for nearly an hour, on lower heat so they would not burn. I used some left over whole wheat bread and did not have provolone cheese and was too far from the store. I used plain havarti and a slice of mozza. Still tasted great. Very tasty, rich broth, we all enjoyed very much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
This is the best French Onion Soup we have ever had!! Wasn't sure of the size of onions, since it was not specified, I used 10 medium (four of them were sweet onions). Used homemade beef broth and skipped the thyme. Had some italian bread to use up, topped it with mozzarella and provolone. Turned out wonderful. Served with a simple green salad and a fruit salad. Reheated leftovers for dinner today, and we were all looking for more. Thank you so much, Jenny, for sharing a definite keeper for us!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misty

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
Very good! However the prep/cooking time is much longer than stated, at least for me. It takes more than 30 minutes to "brown" the onions. Maybe it was the type of onion? I did the same thing with he bread and cheese: toasted in oven and melted cheese on bread, then placed on top of soup. Also, didn't have thyme (couldn't believe that!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by midwestchef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: New Albany, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
Recipe Group pick September 15, 2012: Loved this french onion soup recipe, hubby raved. It's a little heavy on prep and cooking time, a special occassion soup, but very worthy. I made as written with a little more sherry :). I did cheat on the topper, I made them separately under the broiler and just popped on top and served a couple on the side. Oh, and I did put a smear of pesto on the baguette slices then the cheese. Yummy, thanks for sharing your recipe with AR!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Absolutely love this recipe! I used regular yellow onions and a dry (cheap)red wine and it turned out great. I also used the cooking sherry but next time might leave that out OR buy a good sherry at the liquor store. I agree with other reviews that the onions did need a little longer to cook than the recipe stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup I

See how to make a simple, comforting onion soup.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

American French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup with a few delicious American twists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States