Restaurant-Style French Onion Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
I've tried quite a few recipes and this one is the richest!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
So savory and delicious!!!! I could eat this every night and be a happy camper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Absolutely love this recipe! I used regular yellow onions and a dry (cheap)red wine and it turned out great. I also used the cooking sherry but next time might leave that out OR buy a good sherry at the liquor store. I agree with other reviews that the onions did need a little longer to cook than the recipe stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
Unfortunatly, we didn`t care for this soup. I didn`t like the red wine taste in this soup and together with the onion the taste was boring. I`ve used wine in soups before and liked ther result. Not sure I will try this soup again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
I think it could use a little less onions, I used 8 small onions and it was a little much, other then that I thought it was very good and quite simple to make. Would deffinitely do it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
Made this soup for my family and I ended up making too little of it. But I think for next time I would cut down on the onions because I had quite an excess of them. Also the cooking times are a little low and I had to cook a little longer for the right consistincy. But it was really nice and look forward to making it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Recipe Group Selection: 15, September 2012 ~ French Onion is my favorite soup, but I've never tried making it. Thought this one was very good. I had to cook my onions for about 45-50 minutes rather than the stated 30 minutes. For the red wine, I used Pinot Noir and bought cooking sherry for the first time. My husband, who didn't think he liked French Onion soup, ate 2 bowls. He said his "taste buds must have changed". We really liked this recipe, and I will make it again. Thanks Jenny for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Made this for recipe group it took a little longer to make than expected. my family loved it even my 9 yr old DD ate 2 bowls. My soup was a little on the sweet side but I think it was the wine I used was sweet, and I used Vidalia Onions. next time I will make sure I use reg. yellow onions and a different red wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
Recipe Group selection of 9/16/12. I made half a recipe as lunch for a friend and I. I used large sweet onions so I used 3, which may have been too much. Instead of dry thyme, I used 2 sprigs of fresh and removed them before serving. I had some Gruyere so I used that on the topping in place of the Swiss and Provolone. My kitchen smelled great and we both enjoyed our lunch (the rest of which was a green salad and the other half of the baguette.) This is something I will remember for special occasions. Thanks, Jenny!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup I

See how to make a simple, comforting onion soup.

American French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup with a few delicious American twists.

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States