Restaurant Style Egg Drop Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2003
HERE'S WHAT I DO FOR MY RESTAURANT STYLE EGG DROP SOUP. Bring broth to a boil with 1T sherry, 1T soy sauce, 2 scallions cut in 1 inch pieces, 1-1 inch piece of fresh ginger, 1 clove garlic crushed. Let steep a few minutes to flavor broth. Remove garlic, ginger and scallions. Thicken with cornstarch (add more cornstarch if you like it nice and thick as we do). Stir broth while simmering in clockwise directions. Add beaten eggs (I use 6 eggs for 4 or 5 cups broth) in slow steady stream and let cook undisturbed (important) until cooked (about a minute or so). If you add eggs before it's thickened the eggs will puff when cooked and will not cook to ribbons (like restaurant style). Garnish with finely sliced scallions if desired and crispy noodles. Yummy! Will fulfill that takeout craving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1307 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2006
This is yummy, and very close to what you can get from the restaurant. The only thing I change is to add the cornstarch before the eggs, so that the eggs cook in flat strings instead of puffy clumps. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
856 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2006
Excellent soup!! Tips: Eggs should be added LAST, after thickening soup. And, remove saucepan from heat before adding eggs. Add eggs slowly, stirring soup in clockwise direction with wooden spoon. A pinch of white pepper adds depth of flavor. This is truly like restaurant egg drop soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
639 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
Very good recipe. I added about 1/3 c. each of chopped celery, shredded carrots and cabbage. I used 5 green onions rather than chives and added 1/2 tsp. black pepper. I will make this again...thank you W.J. Cory!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon :)

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Choteau, Montana, USA
Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2002
I added a tiny amount of soy sauce but realized that it made it too salty so I added more broth, onions, ginger, and eggs to make a larger batch. The soy sauce changed the color slightly but gave it a good taste. This had to be the best egg drop soup recipe that I have ever had and I have tried many. Terrific! Oh an I used bouillon cubes with water instead of canned broth. Don't know if this made a difference or not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
This is as good as the restaurant's soup. Everyone in the family enjoyed this, which is very unusual. My pickiest eater even ate this soup, after fishing out the chives. She thought the egg was noodles, and to get through dinner without a complaint, we didn't tell her differently. Thank you for an easy yet wonderful recipe. (Not to mention a dinner without complaints!) :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4my4girls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2006
I followed the recipe exactly and I don't know what went wrong. This soup ended up being terrible and the ginger completely overpowered everything. It also tastes nothing like our local chinese restaurant. I will continue my search for an enjoyable Egg Drop Soup and never make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RogueOnion8

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
This recipe was awesome! Thanks so much! A KEEPER! My husband LOVES egg drop soup and this is superior to the others I tried. Big tip: I used the low sodium chicken broth to keep the salty taste other egg drop soups get down. I make often since it so easy-and a family favorite. If I don't have chicken broth on hand, I use 1 cup of water to 1 crushed chicken cube per serving as desired. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Madeleine Santiago Peterson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
Wow was I ever pleasantly surprised by this recipe. I have been searching for years for a good egg drop soup recipe and this is it. I would highly recommend drizzling some sesame seed oil into it and adding some mushrooms, mixed frozen veggies and diced water chestnuts and a pinch of white pepper....yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2003
GREAT! I made the recipe as written, no changes. Tastes just as delicious as the soup in a good Chinese restaurant! It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hinckley, Ohio, USA
Living In: Holiday, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 591) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Egg Drop Soup (Better than Restaurant Quality)

See how to make restaurant-quality egg drop soup.

Restaurant-Style Egg Drop Soup

This simple egg drop soup tastes like it came from your favorite restaurant.

Firehouse Egg Drop Soup

Watch a firehouse cook make egg drop soup for the crew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States