Restaurant Style Egg Drop Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2002
I added a tiny amount of soy sauce but realized that it made it too salty so I added more broth, onions, ginger, and eggs to make a larger batch. The soy sauce changed the color slightly but gave it a good taste. This had to be the best egg drop soup recipe that I have ever had and I have tried many. Terrific! Oh an I used bouillon cubes with water instead of canned broth. Don't know if this made a difference or not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2003
HERE'S WHAT I DO FOR MY RESTAURANT STYLE EGG DROP SOUP. Bring broth to a boil with 1T sherry, 1T soy sauce, 2 scallions cut in 1 inch pieces, 1-1 inch piece of fresh ginger, 1 clove garlic crushed. Let steep a few minutes to flavor broth. Remove garlic, ginger and scallions. Thicken with cornstarch (add more cornstarch if you like it nice and thick as we do). Stir broth while simmering in clockwise directions. Add beaten eggs (I use 6 eggs for 4 or 5 cups broth) in slow steady stream and let cook undisturbed (important) until cooked (about a minute or so). If you add eggs before it's thickened the eggs will puff when cooked and will not cook to ribbons (like restaurant style). Garnish with finely sliced scallions if desired and crispy noodles. Yummy! Will fulfill that takeout craving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1307 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2003
Excellent! great with a drop of soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2003
Absolutely delicious! Unfortunately I didn't have chives, but it still tasted great. Oh, and I did add about 2 shakes of soy sauce. Even my kids (5 and 3) loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2003
Very good and easy recipe. Even my 9 year old likes it and he is very picky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2003
This was delicious. We had with egg rolls and stir fry. My 2 year old son kept asking for more "chicken noodle soup." I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2003
I have made this several times; YUMMY is all I can say!!! I use bouillon too; I'm sure it's better with broth, but it's quite good with bouillon (just let it cook a little bit so the flavor can thoroughly mix in the water). What's lovely about the egg yolk is you can use the extra egg white in fried rice (if you make fried rice). I make this first when preparing my Chinese meal because it doesn't have to be served immediately. DEFINATELY A KEEPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lugoff, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2003
GREAT! I made the recipe as written, no changes. Tastes just as delicious as the soup in a good Chinese restaurant! It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hinckley, Ohio, USA
Living In: Holiday, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2003
This was an easy and delicious recipe. The whole family loved it. I made it with 2 large cans of soup stock, but doubled the ginger, salt, and eggs/yolks, I only put 3 Tbs. of chives in it, since the first time I made it I doubled the chives and it was too much for the kids. I needed to triple the cornstach to get it the right consistancy. My husband has had me make it twice this week, the first time I made it as part of the dinner the second time it was dinner. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2003
Good Recipe! I used fresh ginger and garlic like the suggestion below. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 592) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Egg Drop Soup (Better than Restaurant Quality)

See how to make restaurant-quality egg drop soup.

Restaurant-Style Egg Drop Soup

This simple egg drop soup tastes like it came from your favorite restaurant.

Firehouse Egg Drop Soup

Watch a firehouse cook make egg drop soup for the crew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States