Restaurant Style Egg Drop Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
Really loved this. I never thought I could make really good egg drop soup. Followed other reviewers tips: Stir in cornstarch first to the broth and then add the beaten eggs last. It came out perfect and tasked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
This soup is AMAZING! I add some hand-rolled pasta, and I can't make enough! I have people BEGGING for this recipe! It's a must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
Loved this! I was very stingy with the ginger and glad I was! This stuff also was wonderful the next day, even better than the first day! I added a small amount of finely chopped onion and celery and it added just enough flavor. I also added just a small amount of soy sauce, like a teaspoon. This is now a staple in our household now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
Just finished a bowl of the first egg drop soup I have ever made. Very easy to follow the recipe. I had no chicken broth so I used bouillon and I think that made it a little too salty. Other wise I followed the recipe. I think it turned out pretty close to what I get in my local Chinese places, except I think it needs more cornstarch. i will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
Great for a light lunch full of protien. I followed another reviewers advice and added the eggs after thickening. The second time I made it I added a few drops of sesame oil and a splash of light soy sauce for a little extra punch. Also, it reheats very well in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
Easy cheap and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Not as good as my grandma's; I was unable to get her recipe and hers is a little spicier, but my boyfriend and son both loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
Great Recipe! Added the eggs after the cornstarch mixture as others suggested. Loved the ginger flavor! Added small cubes of tofu and small dumplings from Trader Joes. This is so simple and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
My family liked this recipe enough for me to tweak it through several versions until we finally settled on the changes we liked. I add 2-3 slices of fresh ginger to the chicken stock (and skip the ground ginger powder), along with 4-5 scallion whites and a couple cloves of garlic that I smash to release the oils. Simmer this for 10-15 minutes (with a lid on) and then turn off the heat and let it "steep" another 15-20 mins. Remove the onion, garlic and ginger and add 1/2-1 tsp Braggs liquid aminos and 1/8 tsp turmeric(good for the digestion and adds lovely golden color). Thicken before adding the egg. (I nearly double the cornstarch to create my family's preferred consistency). Bring back to a low boil and stir in the egg. Add salt to taste. Then I garnish with the chopped scallion greens. I'm getting rave reviews on this from friends and family and have made it three times this week. We use our own homemade chicken stock and fresh eggs, as well. It can't be beat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
Really great recipe! just don't add ginger,and add cornstarch before eggs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 591) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Egg Drop Soup (Better than Restaurant Quality)

See how to make restaurant-quality egg drop soup.

Restaurant-Style Egg Drop Soup

This simple egg drop soup tastes like it came from your favorite restaurant.

Firehouse Egg Drop Soup

Watch a firehouse cook make egg drop soup for the crew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States