Restaurant Style Egg Drop Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
Easy cheap and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Not as good as my grandma's; I was unable to get her recipe and hers is a little spicier, but my boyfriend and son both loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
Great Recipe! Added the eggs after the cornstarch mixture as others suggested. Loved the ginger flavor! Added small cubes of tofu and small dumplings from Trader Joes. This is so simple and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
My family liked this recipe enough for me to tweak it through several versions until we finally settled on the changes we liked. I add 2-3 slices of fresh ginger to the chicken stock (and skip the ground ginger powder), along with 4-5 scallion whites and a couple cloves of garlic that I smash to release the oils. Simmer this for 10-15 minutes (with a lid on) and then turn off the heat and let it "steep" another 15-20 mins. Remove the onion, garlic and ginger and add 1/2-1 tsp Braggs liquid aminos and 1/8 tsp turmeric(good for the digestion and adds lovely golden color). Thicken before adding the egg. (I nearly double the cornstarch to create my family's preferred consistency). Bring back to a low boil and stir in the egg. Add salt to taste. Then I garnish with the chopped scallion greens. I'm getting rave reviews on this from friends and family and have made it three times this week. We use our own homemade chicken stock and fresh eggs, as well. It can't be beat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
Really great recipe! just don't add ginger,and add cornstarch before eggs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
I used egg whites only. It needed a bit more salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
This is sooooo far from what it should taste like. I love eating the soup but this fell WAY short. I won't be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mwood

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
I have never reviewed a recipe before but I had read most of the reviews so I decided to make this. It was just fair if that. Not restaurant quality at all. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
I was surprised how much this tasted like egg drop soup from a Chinese restaurant! I actually didn't have ground ginger so I put a little bit of fresh ginger and it wasn't bad at all! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joyce

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Easy to make but a little bland. Any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 576) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Egg Drop Soup (Better than Restaurant Quality)

See how to make restaurant-quality egg drop soup.

Restaurant-Style Egg Drop Soup

This simple egg drop soup tastes like it came from your favorite restaurant.

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States