Restaurant Style Egg Drop Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Followed it perfectly. Very bland. I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
After reading several reviews and watching the video, I proceeded to make a very quick and simple soup that tastes wonderful! Flavoring the broth with ginger, soy sauce, and scallion worked very well. Also thickening the soup before adding the eggs resulted in nice, flat, ribbony (is that even a word?) eggs. Garnished with green onions, the soup was a big hit. Thank you for an easy recipe that really tastes like your favorite Chinese restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stone cold baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roland, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kandiicook
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
I never ever leave reviews but this recipe is perfect!! It taste exactly like the soup from where i order chinese food only less salty(great). I did add the flour before i added the egg and took the pot off of the heat before i added the egg so it did not overcook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
I never made egg drop soup so I used this recipe as a starting point and adjusted according to comments /personal taste. If I remember correctly, I steeped quite a few minced green onions & 2 garlic cloves in broth. Added the ginger, a bit of sesame oil, soy sauce, sriracha for some heat and a splash of vinegar for sour as it needed more flavor for my taste. Removed cloves, thickened with 2tbsp cornstarch before adding 3/4 eggs (didn't bother separating one of the eggs-hate waste). White pepper & salt to taste. I also threw in handfuls of fresh spinach at the end to add some vitamins. Served immediately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
Great recipe! Just what I needed after playing in the snow! This soup is great, easy to make, and I usually have the ingredients laying around the house. If you use bouillon cubes, like I do, however I would skip out on the salt :) Happy cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Very easy to make and tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Whole family loved it and it is so easy. Will definitely reverse the order of the eggs and corn starch next time and perhaps add a little miso...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
This is the second time I made this soup and it actually tasted and came out better. The only thing I will change the next time I make this is to omit the salt since I like to add a bit of soy sauce. My family really enjoyed it and I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
This is a GREAT recipe! Thank You so much! I doubled it and it worked perfectly :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hiawatha, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
You can add peas, corn, carrots, water chestnuts, soy sauce -- whatever floats your bubble, but THIS is the EXACT simple yummy egg drop soup that I know and love!! (except the salt...if you use regular chix broth or bouillon, it doesn't need it.). Thanks WJ Cory!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 608) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Egg Drop Soup (Better than Restaurant Quality)

See how to make restaurant-quality egg drop soup.

Restaurant-Style Egg Drop Soup

This simple egg drop soup tastes like it came from your favorite restaurant.

Firehouse Egg Drop Soup

Watch a firehouse cook make egg drop soup for the crew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States