Restaurant Style Egg Drop Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
I much prefer the simpler recipe of 4 cups broth, 2 beaten eggs, white pepper, and garnish with chives... I only tried this one because I had always wondered how to make my egg drop soup thicker- voila- cornstarch... the writer forgot to add that cornstarch does NOT dissolve in hot water- you should always mix cornstarch in cold water first, then add to hot liquids- like gravy or this soup. Otherwise tasted fine...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy Elizabeth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
A quick and easy recipe, and very good! I will use it going forward. I added more ginger, 1/2 cup water, and some tofu. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lyn Bergdahl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
This was exactly what I wanted my egg drop soup to be! The only change I would make was, like most everyone else, put the corn starch mixture in before the eggs to get that ribboned egg look. Overall great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
Love, love , love this recipe! It's quick, easy and very tasty. The only thing I added that wasn't listed was minced garlic and I used fresh ground ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ryleesmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
Loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hollie Brabham
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
Super simple. Super easy. And SUPER YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hollie Brabham

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
Yum, thank you! This was so easy. I used fresh ginger because it was all I had on hand. Also substituted spring onions for chives (again all I had on hand). I used 1/2 Tbs xantham gum instead of corn starch and added a pinch of white pepper as another reviewer suggested. I also thickened the soup then added the egg as many reviewers suggested. Very simple to make and beautiful when finished. I really enjoyed it and can't wait to see what my son things (he's been begging me to make it).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
We love it. We are ginger nuts so I do add more ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
This is absolutely divine! My fiance and I have recently started a ketogenic diet, so I've been striving to make it as painless as possible. It's not hard to do, but eventually you get tired of having the same things over and over again. One of the blessings is the versatility of eggs. I really wanted to find a soup that didn't utilize pasta or beans with a lot of carbs. I had a container of chicken broth in my hand with which I didn't know what to cook, so I was relieved when I came across this recipe. I saw the carb count and immediately decided to try it based on the positive feedback. I just made some about ten minutes ago; I must say, this will be a staple in our household long after our diet has ended. I can't wait for my fiance to come home from work. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Weller

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
Easy and just like the real thing! Don't deviate from the recipe and be patient when dropping the eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 608) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Egg Drop Soup (Better than Restaurant Quality)

See how to make restaurant-quality egg drop soup.

Restaurant-Style Egg Drop Soup

This simple egg drop soup tastes like it came from your favorite restaurant.

Firehouse Egg Drop Soup

Watch a firehouse cook make egg drop soup for the crew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States