Restaurant Style Egg Drop Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
I've made this sooo many times, I love it! Have had people ask me to make it multiple times as well. It's also very quick (done in less than 30 min). This recipe is a great base, and you can easily change the proportions to fit your taste. Here are the changes I make: 1. Use low-sodium chicken broth; I find the normal broth to have a very overpowering taste that doesn't taste good with this soup. 2. Depending on what consistency you want, you may want to add more corn starch. I use 1 tbsp cornstarch for every cup of liquid (so 4 tbsp for this given recipe). The soup is thin in the given recipe. 3. Can very easily customize it (tho it's also great on its own). I love adding corn and tofu. Have also added spinach and peas/carrots before. 4. I use tons of ginger and probably grate over a tablespoon Other reviewers have mentioned important tips about the egg and cornstarch, so if you follow those instructions, it's hard to go wrong with this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
Made exactly as directed. Thanks for the awesome directions W.J. Cory! They helped tremendously. This soup is easy to make and extremely tasty. I actually made it after work and it is not too involved for an after work kind of quick meal. Am definitely making this again--husband and 12 year old child loved it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
I make this all the time for the boys, their favorite! My 14 year old chose this as his first recipe to learn, passing on the tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
This is the BEST egg drop recipe I have ever tried. Better than most egg drop soups I've ordered at restaurants. I eat mine with extra fresh chives and a bit of soy sauce. Yum! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karissa Kendrick

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
My first experience with egg drop soup was less than stellar, so I wanted to give it another try and let me say it was worth it. This soup is absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zoe ricks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Beth Heindell
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Heindell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amanda Gagle
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
Just made this. Used flour instead of corn starch because we're out and I had a craving! We also thickened the broth before adding the eggs as suggested in other comments and added 1t of sugar and a pinch of garlic salt. So yummy! My daughter (4) thinks it's better than the restaurants :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Gagle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
The first time I followed the directions exactly. And it was fantastic my 15 year old, 6 year old and 11 month old all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
This was simple to prepare and cook. I used a low sodium chicken broth and it still had good flavors. Tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
Easy and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 609) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Egg Drop Soup (Better than Restaurant Quality)

See how to make restaurant-quality egg drop soup.

Restaurant-Style Egg Drop Soup

This simple egg drop soup tastes like it came from your favorite restaurant.

Firehouse Egg Drop Soup

Watch a firehouse cook make egg drop soup for the crew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States