Restaurant Style Egg Drop Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
My family liked this recipe enough for me to tweak it through several versions until we finally settled on the changes we liked. I add 2-3 slices of fresh ginger to the chicken stock (and skip the ground ginger powder), along with 4-5 scallion whites and a couple cloves of garlic that I smash to release the oils. Simmer this for 10-15 minutes (with a lid on) and then turn off the heat and let it "steep" another 15-20 mins. Remove the onion, garlic and ginger and add 1/2-1 tsp Braggs liquid aminos and 1/8 tsp turmeric(good for the digestion and adds lovely golden color). Thicken before adding the egg. (I nearly double the cornstarch to create my family's preferred consistency). Bring back to a low boil and stir in the egg. Add salt to taste. Then I garnish with the chopped scallion greens. I'm getting rave reviews on this from friends and family and have made it three times this week. We use our own homemade chicken stock and fresh eggs, as well. It can't be beat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
Really great recipe! just don't add ginger,and add cornstarch before eggs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
I used egg whites only. It needed a bit more salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
This is sooooo far from what it should taste like. I love eating the soup but this fell WAY short. I won't be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mwood

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
I have never reviewed a recipe before but I had read most of the reviews so I decided to make this. It was just fair if that. Not restaurant quality at all. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
I was surprised how much this tasted like egg drop soup from a Chinese restaurant! I actually didn't have ground ginger so I put a little bit of fresh ginger and it wasn't bad at all! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joyce

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Easy to make but a little bland. Any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crestwood, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
This was easy and tasted just like the resaurants I ate at.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
Oooh, yummy! I added a tablespoon of soy sauce to add depth to the flavor of the broth as well as some minced garlic and green onions cut into 1/4 inch slices. Super easy and super delicious!! If you wanted to you could always throw in some cooked chicken, pork or shrimp, but I love it just the way it is! Oh, and as many have already stated, add the eggs AFTER you thicken the soup. You will be much happier with the results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I used fresh Garlic, ginger, and chives all I can say is wow
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne Bartlett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Swannanoa, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 603) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Egg Drop Soup (Better than Restaurant Quality)

See how to make restaurant-quality egg drop soup.

Restaurant-Style Egg Drop Soup

This simple egg drop soup tastes like it came from your favorite restaurant.

Firehouse Egg Drop Soup

Watch a firehouse cook make egg drop soup for the crew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States