Restaurant Style Egg Drop Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
just made this for company. i wanted a nice light soup before dinner. left out the chives/gr. onion as one guest doesn't care for them. used 1/4 t. of pureed ginger rather than powdered and added some grated carrot. excellent and would definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
wow... all i can say is simply stunning..... when i first read this recipe i wont lie but i was of the most skeptic. but truly after following these these all but too simple steps i found that the outcome was of the absolute majestic flavor. the ginger was at the most firm satisfying level of flavor, and the complete culinary genius of this recipe has sincerely left me in all but awe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ermi Takiah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
I have been making this soup for years now and would love to give some suggestions. It helps to use only egg whites instead of whole eggs and to stir in a little water to the whites to thin them out. Also pour in the whites through a slotted ladle, or better still, a ladle with holes, held about 8-10 inches above the pot and stir while doing this ( another pair of hands needed !! ). A dash of ground peppercorns added before thickening enhances the flavour wonderfully !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shelbymac9
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
Best soup ever!! Of course I had to make wontons to pair with it. The pinch of white pepper makes all the difference!! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
Love this recipe! Tastes awesome!!! The only thing I recommend is to add the eggs last so it's not in clumps.. Overall this recipe is worth the try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
OUTSTANDING!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Firecat
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
Just what the doctor ordered. I used chicken stock not broth, simmered with carrot ,green onion, pressed garlic for about 20 min. Took them out then proceeded. Make sure to thicken first before adding eggs. And add those crunchies on top. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Firecat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brighton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fowlerville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
I've made this sooo many times, I love it! Have had people ask me to make it multiple times as well. It's also very quick (done in less than 30 min). This recipe is a great base, and you can easily change the proportions to fit your taste. Here are the changes I make: 1. Use low-sodium chicken broth; I find the normal broth to have a very overpowering taste that doesn't taste good with this soup. 2. Depending on what consistency you want, you may want to add more corn starch. I use 1 tbsp cornstarch for every cup of liquid (so 4 tbsp for this given recipe). The soup is thin in the given recipe. 3. Can very easily customize it (tho it's also great on its own). I love adding corn and tofu. Have also added spinach and peas/carrots before. 4. I use tons of ginger and probably grate over a tablespoon Other reviewers have mentioned important tips about the egg and cornstarch, so if you follow those instructions, it's hard to go wrong with this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
Made exactly as directed. Thanks for the awesome directions W.J. Cory! They helped tremendously. This soup is easy to make and extremely tasty. I actually made it after work and it is not too involved for an after work kind of quick meal. Am definitely making this again--husband and 12 year old child loved it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
I make this all the time for the boys, their favorite! My 14 year old chose this as his first recipe to learn, passing on the tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 607) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Egg Drop Soup (Better than Restaurant Quality)

See how to make restaurant-quality egg drop soup.

Restaurant-Style Egg Drop Soup

This simple egg drop soup tastes like it came from your favorite restaurant.

Firehouse Egg Drop Soup

Watch a firehouse cook make egg drop soup for the crew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States