Restaurant Style Egg Drop Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
We love it. We are ginger nuts so I do add more ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
This is absolutely divine! My fiance and I have recently started a ketogenic diet, so I've been striving to make it as painless as possible. It's not hard to do, but eventually you get tired of having the same things over and over again. One of the blessings is the versatility of eggs. I really wanted to find a soup that didn't utilize pasta or beans with a lot of carbs. I had a container of chicken broth in my hand with which I didn't know what to cook, so I was relieved when I came across this recipe. I saw the carb count and immediately decided to try it based on the positive feedback. I just made some about ten minutes ago; I must say, this will be a staple in our household long after our diet has ended. I can't wait for my fiance to come home from work. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Weller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
Easy and just like the real thing! Don't deviate from the recipe and be patient when dropping the eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
This is a great recipe! After making it as written, I couldn't wait to try it again with a few additions/changes. I doubled the recipe; used the sliced tops of green onions instead of chives; added slices of fresh ginger (instead of ground) and some white pepper. Added a can of corn (to the doubled recipe)and some shredded cabbage (from a bag for cole slaw that also included some shredded carrots). I did use a bit more cornstarch, and it was just the right consistency (sometimes in a restaurant it is almost gelled-yuck). I added some small cubes of tofu. Two large eggs was enough for me, but that is a matter of taste. After thickening the soup, I followed suggestions from reviewers - I put the beaten egg in a baggie and cut off a very small tip and drizzled it from the bag into the soup while I stirred gently clockwise - it worked perfectly! I added a bit of soy sauce at the table. I loved it! It's simple, healthy and really good! I'll be making this again and again. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
This is great and so easy! I added a can of corn juice and all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila McDougall

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
This recipe is quick and easy. Took about 10 minutes for everything. Very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Desiree Traina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly and to my surprise it tastes and looks( which to me is quite important) almost exactly like our local Chinese resturant!!!! The Husband said he couldn't taste a difference. Will definitely be making this a staple for a quick comfort soup??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Nicole White

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
This recipe was phenomenal! We added mushrooms and snap peas just for fun and the entire family loved it, including my picky six year old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONEBLUEBALLOON
Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennifer702
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Loved it! Based on other suggestions (and to make it a lil more heartier of a meal), I did add shredded carrots and mushrooms (about 1/4 cup of each) and added the cornstartch before the eggs (which I used 3 whole eggs). I'm not a fan of ginger, so I used ground white pepper instead with a dash of soy sauce to give it a lil extra flavor. This is already saved for another time...amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer702

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
I tried this soup and now I am addicted. I did however add white pepper to give it a little something extra
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 581) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Egg Drop Soup (Better than Restaurant Quality)

See how to make restaurant-quality egg drop soup.

Restaurant-Style Egg Drop Soup

This simple egg drop soup tastes like it came from your favorite restaurant.

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States