Restaurant-Style Coleslaw I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
I always make this slaw the night before - it gets a lot more tender. It can get a little soupy though, so I just serve it with a slotted spoon, or strain it into a fresh container.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sonjagroset

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kunfetti
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
This was a huge hit. I used 4 bone-in chicken breasts, cooked on low for 6 hours then shredded them an hour before serving. I also used another users suggestion and toasted the bun with olive oil and garlic salt. I didn't have the sweet baby rays honey bbq sauce but I had regular sweet baby rays and added about 2 tbls of honey. I also made a coleslaw to put on top. I will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
This is a really great recipe, but what really makes it perfect is a couple of spoonfuls (to taste) of prepared horseradish. I usually use about two soup spoons worth. Horseradish gives it that bite that makes that popular restaurant coleslaw we all love so great. I also just use the buttermilk and leave out the milk. It doesn't need it. Thanks for a great place to start Marsha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
left out the vinegar, buttermilk and used pineapple juice in place of the lemon juice. It was delicious and not too liquefied how some people said. Probably because i did not use buttermilk or vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
I left out the onion and substituted tarragon vinegar. This is the best coleslaw recipe ever!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
Really a great recipe. My family likes it alot. Simple and quick to make.I,like Kaylas mom, keep the dressing separate and add just enough before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
I used miracle whip instead of mayo and rice vinegar and it was still good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
This was okay. Not the best I've ever had (not "zingy" enough), but a solid recipe and non-offensive. It does get a tad runny; just drain some of the liquid off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissKitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
When I was mixing up everything, started having doubts about the recipe. Boy was I wrong! This cole slaw recipe was WONDERFUL! My husband is picky about not wanting too sweet of taste. He LOVED this! I've never made cole slaw...he kept asking me-- are you sure YOU made it and didn't buy it pre-made? What a compliment! Followed recipe as written and would highly recommend this recipe! I did make it in the morning and left it all day in the refrigerator. Think that probably improved the taste. Thanks for posting this recipe!! Now one of our fav "go to" recipes :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
Make this all the time. Found it got really runny so I replace the buttermilk with a 1/4 c. of sour cream. I also up the ground pepper amount cause we're pepper people...but this is a hot every time!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 799) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Coleslaw I

A creamy, sweet-tart salad that tastes like a popular chicken restaurant’s slaw.

Ramen Coleslaw

A crunchy coleslaw with ramen and cabbage in a tangy vinegar dressing.

Apple Coleslaw

See how to make a sweet twist on classic coleslaw.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States