Restaurant-Style Chicken Scampi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
This recipe almost has it right except for the Alfredo Sauce. In the resaturant not mentioned it is a white wine butter sauce. I make this all the time we LOVE it but I do it right! Sauted chicken strips in olive oil 1/4 cup with salt and pepper. Remove from pan leave bits in bottom. Add peppers and onion to pan and saute til tender not too soft, then also remove from pan. Add more olive oil if needed you need 1/4 cup then add 3-4 cloves of garlic minced saute til soft and slightly brown be careful not to burn. Add 3 T flour and wisk then add 1 cup dry white wine to deglaze pan scrapping all bits with wooden spoon. let reduce down on med heat. Add 1 can chicken broth when thick add 1/4 cup cold butter in pieces stir well. Check for seasoning may need addtnl salt and pepper. Add back in chicken and pepper&onions to rehaeat serve over fav pasta! yum yum and the real deal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
397 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karyn Knight

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2002
I love chicken scampi at the Italian restaurant chain and hated this one. The alfredo sauce is all wrong for the recipe. Try Chicken Scampi II. It tastes much more like the recipe at the Italian restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2002
Just like the Olive Gardens I love to make this for friends, I add a pack of McCormick, creamy garlic Alfredo pasta sauce blend and it is great,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2006
Great recipe, though I did make my own Alfredo sauce. (I hate that stuff in the jar! Ick!) I just mixed a few Tblsp of butter with a few Tblsp of flour and stired in a sauce pan untill crumbly. I then added about 2 cups of light cream (Heavy cream is better, but I always feel guilty *LoL*) I finished it off with a 1/4 good dry white wine, and 4 large crushed garlic cloves. Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
This recipe almost has it right except for the Alfredo Sauce. I was hoping for something similar to the chicken scampi from Olive Garden. This was sort of close but not exactly. The sauce from Olive Garden does not taste like alfredo sauce and it's a different consistency. So I did an experiment. It seems like the resaturant version is something like a white wine butter cream sauce? So I followed steps one and two (the same way as written) but when it came time for the sauce I just melted butter, then sauted the garlic in the melted butter, then added half and half (cream) and some white wine. In my opinion, this turned out much better. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FoodeliciousCraig'sWife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcminnville, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2004
I recently made this for my family who loved it. I altered it quite a bit to add more flavor. I used a roasted garlic alfredo sauce, chicken broth and white wine instead of the reserved pasta liquid, and added garlic powder, basil, oregano, and 1 tsp lemon juice to the sauce. I also added salt and pepper as needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
I love Olive Garden Chicken Scampi, but this tastes nothing like it. Scampi sauce is not alfredo sauce, this is all wrong. I made this again, but made my own scampi sauce which is butter, onions, chablis wine, heavy cream and seasonings, and it tasted identical to restaurant-style scampi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maddysmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pleasant Prairie, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
If you love the chicken scampi at the Olive Garden, this isn't quite it, but it's not bad for an at home knock off either. As many reviewers have said, it's a little bland, so go ahead and spice it up with some extra garlic and whatever other italian spices you prefer. Using chicken broth instead of the reserved pasta water helped add a bit more flavor. You'll definitely want to either halve the pasta or double the sauce, depending on how many you're feeding. It would be much too dry as written. I'm sure homemade alfredo sauce would make this fabulous, but that's more work than I'm looking for unless it's a very special occasion! Overall, my family really enjoyed this dish. Even my 3 and 6 year olds cleaned their plates. Just don't expect that you're getting an exact replica of the Olive Garden's dish. If you want that, head out for dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicopee, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Windsor, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
I did as another reviewed suggested and made a white wine butter sauce instead of using the alfredo sauce. But I did everything else the same. This was a HUGE hit, my husband has already begged me to make it again! It was not quite as good as the chicken scampi at olive garden but I was still very satisfied :) Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2003
This was better than Olive Gardens. I cut the spaghetti in half per other suggestions and it was great. I couldn't find the Four Cheese Alfredo sauce so I used one 16 oz. jar of Classic Alfredo instead & it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Chicken Scampi

See how to make a quick and creamy chicken pasta that's a twist on shrimp scampi.

Restaurant-Style Tequila Lime Chicken

See a tasty homemade take on a famous tequila-lime chicken dish.

Restaurant-Style Buffalo Chicken Wings

Make hot wings that taste like the famous restaurant chain’s.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States