Restaurant-Style Chicken Scampi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
We loved this recipe. The first time I made it I followed the recipe exactly and it was delicious. The second time I made a few alterations and used chopped green onions and some sliced mushrooms instead of the peppers and 2/3 cup chicken broth rather than the spaghetti water and it was every bit as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yellow Springs, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
This was really flavorful. Cooking the peppers with the sauce added so much more to the taste. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Horsham, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Eagleville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2007
This was great! :) I did half the spaghetti called for, and used a poblano pepper too, to spice it up a little bit more. Friends loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lindsay, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MaryTee
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
Update: I haven't made this dish in years but cooked it again last night-- this time without the jarred sauce and using 8 oz of whole wheat angel hair (or capellini) pasta. It was fabulous! Again, I seasoned the flour liberally with salt, pepper, garlic powder, and a sprinkle of paprika. While cooking the peppers, onion, and garlic, I sprinkled in a bit more salt, pepper, and garlic salt with parsley. Once that was finished cooking, I deglazed the pan with 1/2 cup of chicken broth. Then I stirred in 3 Tb of unsalted butter, 1 cup of heavy cream and 1/4 cup of freshly shredded parmesan cheese. Tossed in the pasta and let it soak up the sauce before serving. This way of cooking tasted much more authentic to the restaurant scampi than when I cooked it before using the jarred Alfredo. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryTee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2007
Great starter recipe. I used roasted garlic oil to saute everything, so I added no garlic. I added onion powder, salt, and ground black pepper to the flour, and I added chopped fresh basil and asparagus to the veggies. I boiled my pasta in chicken broth, then tossed the drained pasta with the roasted garlic oil and omitted the alfredo sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leahnwells

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paintsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
I liked this recipe for its foundation. As others suggested however, it was rather bland. To combat this, I made a rub for the chicken using garlic powder, onion powder, salt, and pepper... and omitted using the flour entirely. Also, I added garlic powder, onion powder, salt, pepper, and crushed red pepper to the sauce- after those changes, it was fabulous!! I suggest also being choosy with the brand alfredo sauce you buy if dont make your own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
Loved the concept of this one, but I agree with the others - be sure to double the amount of sauce. It was quite dry. I added lots of extra garlic and spiced up the flour, too. I still thought it was a fabulous dish, just needed more sauce and spice! Try it - everyone will love it with those changes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davis Junction, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
My fiance said it tasted like "more"! Thanks for a great recipe, we both loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medical Lake, Washington, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
This recipe is wonderful! I agree with other people that adding spices to the flour helps and using chicken broth instead of the water is crutial. This is a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
If you love the chicken scampi at the Olive Garden, this isn't quite it, but it's not bad for an at home knock off either. As many reviewers have said, it's a little bland, so go ahead and spice it up with some extra garlic and whatever other italian spices you prefer. Using chicken broth instead of the reserved pasta water helped add a bit more flavor. You'll definitely want to either halve the pasta or double the sauce, depending on how many you're feeding. It would be much too dry as written. I'm sure homemade alfredo sauce would make this fabulous, but that's more work than I'm looking for unless it's a very special occasion! Overall, my family really enjoyed this dish. Even my 3 and 6 year olds cleaned their plates. Just don't expect that you're getting an exact replica of the Olive Garden's dish. If you want that, head out for dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicopee, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Windsor, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Chicken Scampi

See how to make a quick and creamy chicken pasta that's a twist on shrimp scampi.

Restaurant-Style Tequila Lime Chicken

See a tasty homemade take on a famous tequila-lime chicken dish.

Restaurant-Style Buffalo Chicken Wings

Make hot wings that taste like the famous restaurant chain’s.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States