Restaurant-Style Cheesy Poblano Pepper Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
Because so many reviewers mentioned the soup was too thick, I put in 4 cups of chicken stock, now it's too thin! As it is, the soup is good but bland. I put in 4 fire roasted, garden grown poblanos, and fire roasted corn. It definately needs a litte more chili spice. Pretty simple to make also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
This soup is really good, like the others I did add more chicken stock to lessen the thickness. My daughters loved it! Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emarie1980
Home Town: Hereford, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by linda2d
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I'd give it 3.5 if I could. It was good enough but just didn't do it for us. I was a little turned off by the aroma but the taste was good. I had to double the recipe to get 5 1.5C servings. After eating a bowl, we agreed that it would benefit from more chicken or something. It reminded me of a creamy casserole without the "stuff". I would use some ideas from it again but probably not remake it as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
The title makes this sound like something other what it is, which is regular tortilla soup with cream. It's pretty good, I reduced the amount of half & half to save on calories but otherwise followed the directions. As so many others have pointed out, this is not 9 servings, it's 2! I roasted my peppers and removed the charred skin before chopping and adding to the soup. Very tasty and might make again, but with less cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JasBradley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
It wasn't worth the expense to make this soup. If you do decide to make it don't change the "Servings" otherwise the recipe doesn't make enough to serve. Did not have enough flavor and turned out too thick-I had to add more broth, seasoning and half/half to thin it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
I really loved the flavor of this soup. I think the name is misleading because the cheese is simply a garnish, not a main ingredient. Of course, that was instantly evident from reading the recipe and I decided to go ahead. I liked the corn tortillas as the thickening agent and I decided to roast my poblano to add a depth of flavor. Based on most of the reviews, I added more chicken stock, but otherwise kept the ingredient amounts the same. This was made to go with chicken fajitas, so I didn't add the chicken either. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
Really good! But not nine servings at all, three at most! I used milk instead of half -n-half, added cheese to soup as well as sprinkling on top. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
I enjoyed the flavor of this soup. First bite in and it instantly reminded me of a favorite childhood casserole (King Ranch Chicken) I had growing up. My only complaint is that it is NOWHERE near 9 servings; not even if was served in tiny cups. I ended up doubleing the recipe and it made 4 lunch size servings. The flavor is really great and I intend on making this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: May 7, 2010
This is a very good soup, but there are definitely a couple of problems with the recipe. First, the recipe has the word "Cheesy" in the title, but cheese is only used to garnish the soup. If you truly believe that this recipe makes nine servings, then you would have less than 1 TBS of cheese per serving. I added the half cup cheese to the soup and mixed in before serving, then I added more as a garnish. I used roasted poblanos as my garnish, as raw peppers are not my husband's favorite. For the tortilla garnish, I sprayed the strips with cooking spray and sprinkled them with homemade taco seasoning before oven toasting. I did have to add a good bit of extra liquid to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
I love this soup, but the servings are WAY off! I halved the recipe (for 2 people) and we didn't even get a full bowl each. Great soup though... Only change was that I added about 1/2 cup chicken to the halved recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Egg Drop Soup

This simple egg drop soup tastes like it came from your favorite restaurant.

Cheesy Tortilla Soup

Learn how to make cheesy tortilla soup with Velveeta.

Restaurant-Style Tequila Lime Chicken

See a tasty homemade take on a famous tequila-lime chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States