Restaurant-Style Cheesy Poblano Pepper Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
I love this soup, but the servings are WAY off! I halved the recipe (for 2 people) and we didn't even get a full bowl each. Great soup though... Only change was that I added about 1/2 cup chicken to the halved recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
My husband and I made this and it came out super tasty. It was thick, but that was okay for us If you are like another reviewer and expect something not too thick, reduce the amount of flour and corn tortillas or add more stock. We added some mushrooms and canned corn when we added the chicken and those were really nice additions. I will defintely make this again, but next time I am going to roast and peel the poblanos since I think that will add a nice roasted flavor and remove the tough texture of the skin. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEANYA

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
This was very tasty and we enjoyed it very much - rather "substantial" and filling. I took the advice of other reviewers and I used a good heaping 1/2 cup of the chopped peppers, and added more chicken stock to thin the soup a bit as it cooked to get it to a not overly thick consistency. I also used closer to a cup of chopped chicken to make it even more of a meal. My only other comment is it makes a lot less than I expected: I do not know how Holly gets 9 servings from this unless they are very small. I would say you get more like four salad/cereal bowl sized servings, so you may want to double this recipe if you want more for seconds or leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
I have already made this 3 times. Be warned... you have to add WAY more liquid to it. I think I used about 8 cups of chicken broth last time. As a result I had to up the tortilla and flour mixture, but just by a little. I garnish it with cheddar cheese, the tortilla strips, and also cilantro and green onions. Those garnishes make the flavor perfect, IMO. I am in love with this soup! It is really filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tamraarruda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Irwin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
Excellent. If I am preparing for a first coarse I omit the diced chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clinton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Delicious and hearty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
I doubled this recipe and it made enough for my husband and I to have lunches for three days. Next time I will make four times what it calls for. I used 1% milk instead of the half and half. Also, I pureed the soup once it was done to make it less chunky. We omitted the chicken. It is just wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: League City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Added chicken, black beans, corn, cumin, and chili powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
I had to make a couple of adjustments due to what I had on hand. I didn't have half and half so I used milk and a little sour cream. I made it with a can of chicken that needed using; it was ok, but shredded chicken breast would be better. I topped the soup with a slice of Monterey Jack and a slice of Swiss, then broiled til bubbly. I then added the diced peppers, tortilla strips and some fresh cilantro. Good stuff. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
The title makes this sound like something other what it is, which is regular tortilla soup with cream. It's pretty good, I reduced the amount of half & half to save on calories but otherwise followed the directions. As so many others have pointed out, this is not 9 servings, it's 2! I roasted my peppers and removed the charred skin before chopping and adding to the soup. Very tasty and might make again, but with less cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JasBradley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Egg Drop Soup

This simple egg drop soup tastes like it came from your favorite restaurant.

Restaurant-Style Tequila Lime Chicken

See a tasty homemade take on a famous tequila-lime chicken dish.

Southwest Tortilla Soup

Discover time-saving tricks for making delicious tortilla soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States