Restaurant-Style Cheesy Poblano Pepper Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
My husband and I made this and it came out super tasty. It was thick, but that was okay for us If you are like another reviewer and expect something not too thick, reduce the amount of flour and corn tortillas or add more stock. We added some mushrooms and canned corn when we added the chicken and those were really nice additions. I will defintely make this again, but next time I am going to roast and peel the poblanos since I think that will add a nice roasted flavor and remove the tough texture of the skin. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEANYA

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
This was very tasty and we enjoyed it very much - rather "substantial" and filling. I took the advice of other reviewers and I used a good heaping 1/2 cup of the chopped peppers, and added more chicken stock to thin the soup a bit as it cooked to get it to a not overly thick consistency. I also used closer to a cup of chopped chicken to make it even more of a meal. My only other comment is it makes a lot less than I expected: I do not know how Holly gets 9 servings from this unless they are very small. I would say you get more like four salad/cereal bowl sized servings, so you may want to double this recipe if you want more for seconds or leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
I have already made this 3 times. Be warned... you have to add WAY more liquid to it. I think I used about 8 cups of chicken broth last time. As a result I had to up the tortilla and flour mixture, but just by a little. I garnish it with cheddar cheese, the tortilla strips, and also cilantro and green onions. Those garnishes make the flavor perfect, IMO. I am in love with this soup! It is really filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tamraarruda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Irwin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2000
Need to make sure to make the tortillas really fine. Mine turned out too thick, I also added more poblanos because it did not have enough flavor. I topped w/ some avocado, cilantro, lime, & black olives which seemed to help. It was actually better the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Photo by linda2d
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I'd give it 3.5 if I could. It was good enough but just didn't do it for us. I was a little turned off by the aroma but the taste was good. I had to double the recipe to get 5 1.5C servings. After eating a bowl, we agreed that it would benefit from more chicken or something. It reminded me of a creamy casserole without the "stuff". I would use some ideas from it again but probably not remake it as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2001
I didn't have any problems at all. Tasted really good. Will probably make it again. Jeanie Bean
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
I really loved the flavor of this soup. I think the name is misleading because the cheese is simply a garnish, not a main ingredient. Of course, that was instantly evident from reading the recipe and I decided to go ahead. I liked the corn tortillas as the thickening agent and I decided to roast my poblano to add a depth of flavor. Based on most of the reviews, I added more chicken stock, but otherwise kept the ingredient amounts the same. This was made to go with chicken fajitas, so I didn't add the chicken either. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
I love this soup, but the servings are WAY off! I halved the recipe (for 2 people) and we didn't even get a full bowl each. Great soup though... Only change was that I added about 1/2 cup chicken to the halved recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
This soup is really good, like the others I did add more chicken stock to lessen the thickness. My daughters loved it! Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emarie1980
Home Town: Hereford, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
It wasn't worth the expense to make this soup. If you do decide to make it don't change the "Servings" otherwise the recipe doesn't make enough to serve. Did not have enough flavor and turned out too thick-I had to add more broth, seasoning and half/half to thin it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Egg Drop Soup

This simple egg drop soup tastes like it came from your favorite restaurant.

Restaurant-Style Tequila Lime Chicken

See a tasty homemade take on a famous tequila-lime chicken dish.

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States