Restaurant-Style Buffalo Chicken Wings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
Oh yeah! I love these and they're really easy to make at home. I decided to bake them instead of fry them so they didn't taste just like Hooters but they were still great and much better for you. I followed the instructions exact except I baked on a rack set over a jelly roll pan at 350 for 45 minutes. Then I turned the oven to 375 and sprayed the wings with Pam and let them bake 5 more minutes so they got crispy. Excellent and you'll never miss the deep fried taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3996 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2002
This is a great way to fix those restaurant style wings. I've been making them like this for years. The secret I picked up from buying the expensive Hooter's Brand wing breading and wing sauce in the grocery is this; Don't skip the step to refrigerate the wings for 60-90 minutes. After this rest the spiced flour on the wings becomes sticky. Now they are ready to fry. This IS the secret to great breaded wings like this! Spices in the flour can be varied to taste. Also to simplify I use about 2/3 butter to 1/3 Frank's Hot Sauce for sauce. Melted in the microwave it tastes like a million bucks! The expensive Hooter's wing sauce also taught me that for the hotter sauce use a greater proportion of sauce to butter. The mild Hooter's sauce uses a larger proportion of butter to sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTCYN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bay Minette, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
Just when I thought it could'nt get any better. I cooked these last night and followed directions as stated, with one exception I only kept them in the fridge for maybe 40mins before frying, I truly believe this step is what makes them so crispy and the seasoning was right on spot. Next time I will leave in the fridge for 90mins as stated. The sauce was great!!!. I have cooked the Buffalo Chicken Wings I from this site in the past, and not to take away from that recipe it is good. This recipe is the one I will use from now on for my hot wings. UPDATE!!! THIS IS ANOTHER RECIPE THAT I CAN NOT STOP MAKING, I NOW ALSO ADD ONION POWDER, GARLIC POWDER AND SEASON SALT TO MY FLOUR MIXTURE, I NEVER SKIP THE FRIDGE STEP, IF YOU DO, JUST TRY IT THE RECIPE WAY I'M SURE YOU WILL SEE THE DIFFERENCE, I NEVER BUY HOT WINGS OUT ANY MORE!!!!!. THIS IS AN UPDATE ON MY UPDATE!!! I WAS LOOKING FOR SOMETHING TO COOK TONIGHT AND WHILE READING REVIEWS THIS CAME UP AGAIN, JUST SEEING THIS RECIPE MAKE ME CRAVE IT MORE, OH WELL GUESS IT'S HOT WINGS AGAIN TONIGHT, THIS IS TRULY HOW GOOD THIS RECIPE IS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1894 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claudette P Henry

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
As a guy born and raised in Buffalo let me tell you that this recipe's name needs to be changed. This is NOT a 'Buffalo style" chicken wing. We do not bread our wings for a starter. Being territorial of our wings, let me just say that you should only use FRANKS RED HOT SAUCE and the ratio to the butter should be 1 stick to every 12 oz. Also the oil should be around 400 degrees. One thing that will keep your wings crispy is to not over-saturate them with sauce. Let them set and 'drip dry' for several minutes so the sauce can stick to the chicken instead of sliding off the oil then put them in a large bowl. Using a ladle give em one scoop full and then toss, coating evenly and adding small amounts of sauce to cover completely. You should not have a pool in the bottom when you're done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
457 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
Excellent recipe. I made these over the weekend;the only hot sauce I had was Tabasco. We loved the wings and we love spicy foods, but these were just too hot and the sauce was very thin and watery. I made some more last night for just my husband and me using Texas Pete and it was perfect. They had the perfect amount of heat. I also followed the directions except for frying. I baked then in the oven for about 30 mins. at 350. I lightly sprinkled them with flour then sprayed cooking spray on them and they had a great crust coming out of the oven. Definetly recommend!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
307 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by apedawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2006
oh my these were sooo good! I pretty much followed the recipe but I never measure spices, just a dash here and there etc.. I wasn't sure if I needed to still put them in the fridge since I was baking them, but I did. I put them on baking sheets sprinkled with alittle more flour and sprayed with pam. I baked @400 for 40 min turning once then I put some BBQ sauce on some and the hot sauce on the others and baked @300 for 15min... they were great! I was surprised that they were crispy too! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
264 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2003
These are the best wings I ever made, my family went crazy over them! I didn't even try the sauce mixture, we used our favorite bbq sauce,for half of them and I made a garlic butter sauce for the other half. I will try the hot sauce recipe next time I make these. The breading is terrific, you have to try this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
226 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Warren, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2002
These wings are excellent!! I moved to WA state from Ohio and could not find hot enough wings to satisfy my taste. The only changes I made was to add a bit more spices to the coating and more hot sauce to the sauce. Since I like my buffalo wings a bit dryer, I put wings onto a cookie sheet after frying and poured sauce over them, baked at 350 for 15 mins., turning.. they turned out fantastic!!! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
176 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2003
These were a big hit at out 'finger food' dinner. My family loved them just as much reheated the next day. Rather than frying, I sprayed the floured wings with a fat free oil spray and baked them for 30 - 45 minutes in a 350 degee oven. I basted thm with the sauce as they cooked and turned them once. I'll make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
155 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2003
There are 6 members in my family. We are all wing lovers. We have wings at least once a week. We have tried several methods of cooking them. Grilling was our favorite until I found this recipe!! WOW-Toooo good to be true. Thanks Kelly Tina Camby,In
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
133 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 2,185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Buffalo Chicken Wings

Make hot wings that taste like the famous restaurant chain’s.

Buffalo Chicken Wings III

These baked wings get an extra flavor kick from cayenne pepper.

Scott’s Famous Chicken Wings

Watch a Buffalo native reveal his secret recipe for authentic chicken wings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States