Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
Most excellent! I tried it with beef and also with chicken. I really like it with chicken. I will be using this recipe often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
I usually don't try recipes that have few reviews but took a chance with this one and I must day that it's really tasty! I didn't have any sherry but it was good nevertheless! Thank you for sharing this with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
Familiar with Chinese cooking, I recognized this as a classic blend of seasonings and ingredients as well as an accurate cooking method. Therefore, I prepared this exactly as written - and it was perfect, just as I had anticipated it would be. My only criticism, and the only thing I did differently, was that the recipe calls for round steak, which I don't think is suited for this style of cooking. I used a New York strip steak, but tenderloin or sirloin would have worked well too. The ingredients in the marinade are so traditional and so key to the dish that I don't really see how you could make any changes and get a fair result. This was just delicious and made hubs and I members of "the clean plate club." Just a tip - if you partially freeze the steak for a half hour or so until semi-firm you will find this so much easier to cut into the thin slice so necessary for this style of cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
680 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Major raves from 12 year old and hubby - no left overs, they LOVED it. Be warned, oyster sauce is VERY salty, so low sodium soy would be fine. This is every bit as good - if not better - than take out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
This recipe was awesome! Even my 17 month old ate it. I added some onions and didn't put ginger root, i didn't have any but did have fresh ginger paste. thank you dianne, wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heatherklenz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
OMG!!! Delish. Substitute hoisin sauce and a few tsp of dumpling sauce because of seafood allergies. By all means do not discard the ginger and garlic, burst of flavor in your mouth. Sesame seed oil is essential. Added 2 TBPS of water at the end. Easy recipe to make. Now preferred recipe for B & B. Thank you Dianne...;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
VERY good!! Doesn't have the "exact" restaurant taste, but definitly a new addition to my recipe collection! I kept the ingredients the same other than I used chicken breast and doubled the sauce. I didn't think these changes changed the recipe so I could still give it an accurate rating. The second time I made this I added fresh mushrooms, water chestnuts and corn (the stuff commonly used in asian recipe's). Thanks Dianne!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Sometimes we find this type of meal too salty but, using low sodium soy sauce, this was excellent! I must come to terms with the fact that I just do not like round steak, however, and will use chicken next time around. Quick and simple, this is a great busy weeknight meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
I've tried many beef and broccoli recipe and this is definitely the best one so far. I didn't like the smell of the sauce before cooking it, but it turned out great !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
I followed this exactly as written and it was excellent. My guests licked their plates and asked for the recipe. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 350) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States