Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
I made this following the directions exactly, except for the ginger because I didn't have any. It was very good. I have a few tips: unless you are using a very tender cut of beef, be sure to slice it very thin and do not overcook or it will get tough. I cooked the beef in two batches so it would fry and not stew or boil. That worked well. This recipe makes too much marinade. Don't add all of it to the pan. Leave about one fifth of it out. One other thing, the portion sizes are way too small. I made enough for six and it fed two of us, with one small serving leftover. I am not a big eater. My dinner partner is a big eater, but certainly would not normally eat four servings at once. I'd say the recipe for four actually feeds two if they don't eat a lot. Anyway, I'd make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by crystalcoast
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
Make sure to get light dry sherry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
We are high school students and made this for a Home Ec course. We thought it was fantastic! It tasted just like what you would get at a restaurant. We didn't have fresh ginger so we used powdered instead but it was still great. We were also skeptical about the oyster sauce but were pleased that it wasn't heavy at all. All in all, it was a delicious meal that we would definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
Seemed too spicy hot at first meal but leftovers were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Perfect seasoning. As mentioned in previous comments the quality of the beef is apparent when the beef is over cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
I thought this recipe really did taste exactly like what you would get in a Chinese restaurant and everyone loved it. Next time I would like to buy a more tender cut of beef; otherwise, it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I made this last week my family loved it. My husband said it was the best Beef & Broccoli he had from any restaurant! I used Flap steak, I did leave it in the ref. a few hours with baking soda. I doubled the recipe because I was using more meat. I found it to be a little salty, I added low sodium chicken stock to the sauce & some water to balance it out, & give me more sauce as it thickened some. I will be making this again, it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
This was good, but nothing special. I think it would probably be better if the meat was marinated the day before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Would make this again. Needs more heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prairie Village, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
For Weight Watchers: 6 PP per serving
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 311) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States