Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
This recipe was really good. The sauce was really savory but not too sticky or heavy. The sauce was really addictive and justified several trips back to the kitchen to pick pieces out of the pan after dinner was done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhonda Jay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garden Grove, California, USA
Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
This was pretty good! I would change a couple of things though. I would use sirloin steak instead of round steak, I had marinated the meat in the sauce for 24 hours and it was still a little tough. I would also thicken the sauce a little more. Other than that we loved the flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
Loved this with a few simple changes: I didn't have sherry, so I used mirin, and I didn't have corn starch, so I used regular flour instead. I also opted for organic raw sugar instead of bleached white sugar. I marinated the meat for about 6 hours in the fridge and did it in two separate batches so that I could have a vegetarian version for me. MmM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snacking on Sunshine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
Very good, and very easy. Didn't have oyster sauce or sherry or starch, but it still turned out great. I used Chinese soy sauce instead. We live in China, my husband is Chinese, but he's never had this dish before. He said they usually use Pork and broccoli. Anyway, he liked it a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.fan

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
I found the oyster sauce really overpowering, next time I will completely omit the oyster sauce and will try the tenderizing tip I read from Karen's Cupcakes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
We didn't think this recipe tasted that great. It wasn't bad, but definitely not something I would make again. It just didn't have a lot of flavor-- I think it would've been better if the garlic and ginger were added to the marinade, as the sauce did not taste like much--and I made it exactly as directed. Will be looking for a different beef and broccoli recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
This was great, loved the sauce which I made as written except for subbing white wine for sherry because I didn't have any. I used coconut oil and powdered ginger, extra garlic, and didn't toss it after sauteing. I also added some mushrooms and onion when I threw the broccoli in. We were very pleased with the way it turned out. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimeelynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
This was super-easy and quick and my whole family enjoyed it very much. I made it with pork instead of beef and my 7-year old asked for it again the next night! Thanks a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
Was kind of bland. I wish it had more soy sauce flavor in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
Yuumy! I followed the recipe except I did not have sesame oil so used olive oil. I used frozen broccoli florets. This was delicious and easy to make. The round steak was tender. The secret is to not over cook it. It's a keeper. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoveToEat

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 51-60 (of 328) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States