Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
This was fantastic and definitely becoming a staple in my routine. The only change i made was using red wine instead of sherry( i didnt have sherry on hand, nor have i ever tasted sherry, so i just guessed maybe red wine would be similar.)And i added,red bell pepper strips, sliced carrots, water chestnuts, bamboo shoots, and baby corn. It was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Georgie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
This was nice, even though I changed a lot. I'm not a beef lover at all, so not too well versed in cooking it. I bought a very thin sirloin and sliced thin strips. To me it was still a bit tough, but like I said, I don't really know how to cook beef well. I made a homemade hoisin sauce to replace the oyster sauce (horrific experience with cooking with oyster sauce. Shudder. Never again). I got it off of chinese.food.com and it was very tasty with this. I also used chicken broth instead of sherry (I don't keep any on hand). Subbed arrowroot for cornstarch, coconut oil for canola, and sucanat for sugar. Added red bell pepper. I can say that this is the first time I've made a stir fry that I'll definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Yummy Recipe. I had all the required ingredients & in addition, added chopped celery, baby bella mushrooms & a 1/2 a sweet onion. It was really good & left the house smelling awesome! Thank you Dianne!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
My teenage son loves this recipe and that is the litmus test for me. The only change I make is to cover the pan while cooking the meat for 3 minutes, as I tended to lose some of the sauce when it finally came time for the broccoli- we like it saucy. I might try the meat tenderizing suggestions put forth by others, just because...so happy to have found this recipe- delicious and simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
I referred to the other comments for this recipe and noted what people liked and what they didn't like. For the marinade, I made a mistake and didn't use the ingredients listed (NOTE TO SELF: READ THE WHOLE RECIPE) and ended up making my own marinade of soy sauce, garlic, ginger, black pepper and sugar, basically a korean BBQ sauce and left the meat to marinade for about 2 hours. I added some onions into the dish and when it came time to cook the meat, used the ingredients listed in the recipe, although I substituted the sherry for orange juice. The marinade I used and the sauce for this recipe did not clash at all and my husband loved it. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
Tasted way too strong of the sherry! Made it as written other than my meat probably marinated for about 2 hours...maybe that was the problem, ..it just soaked the sherry in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
Not enough flavour for us and runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
This recipe was really good. The sauce was really savory but not too sticky or heavy. The sauce was really addictive and justified several trips back to the kitchen to pick pieces out of the pan after dinner was done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhonda Jay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
This was pretty good! I would change a couple of things though. I would use sirloin steak instead of round steak, I had marinated the meat in the sauce for 24 hours and it was still a little tough. I would also thicken the sauce a little more. Other than that we loved the flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
Loved this with a few simple changes: I didn't have sherry, so I used mirin, and I didn't have corn starch, so I used regular flour instead. I also opted for organic raw sugar instead of bleached white sugar. I marinated the meat for about 6 hours in the fridge and did it in two separate batches so that I could have a vegetarian version for me. MmM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snacking on Sunshine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 41-50 (of 325) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States