Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
Taking reviewer Naple's advice I didn't alter the recipe except I was out of sherry so I substituted a nice dry white wine. Other than that I followed the recipe to the letter. The beef was a little tough but that's not the recipe's fault. Next time I'll truly take Naple's advice and use a nice NY strip steak for more tender meat. This went into the recipe box to be made again. Thanks Dianne for a quick and easy work week meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
Prepared this with additional ingredients, sliced red bell peppers and sliced onion and garlic. Didn't need any additional seasoning. Turned out delicious and colorful served over white steamed rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brea, California, USA
Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
Awesome recipe! The only thing I will do different next time is grate in the garlic and ginger and stir fry it with the vegetables. We are big garlic and ginger fans! Other than that, I wouldn't change a thing. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cold Lake, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
I made this last night for friends, and they loved it! It was a bit bland for me, even though I did add red pepper flakes to add a bit of zip. Otherwise, I prepared this recipe exactly as it was posted. I will make it again, since I did like the consistency of the sauce. I will just add more garlic, more red pepper & probably throw in a few more veggies just to jazz it up to my liking. Thanks for a good basic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
It doesn't sound too exciting in the title but the flavour is unreal. I will be making this regularly. My fussy wife went back for seconds which does not happen often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
This has become one of our family's "go to" meals, and we have it almost weekly. It's also one of the only recipes that I don't tinker with. The only alteration I made is to increase the corn starch since the sauce does come out a bit runny. I highly recommend trying it just as written!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by graycath

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
I have never had this in a restaurant so the opinion is simply on flavor, not on comparison to anything else. We enjoyed this, and the only change was to use a new york strip steak and add some diced water chestnuts. The ginger and garlic were lost to us and I would have preferred more sauce and/or flavor. I did not have a pan big enough to hold all of this so I kept the broccoli hot in a large stoneware bowl at 200F in the oven then just added the meat and sauce to the bowl and served.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
Classic recipe, Cooked this many times. Try it with Cauliflower - It's even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
First off, those that say the oyster sauce made it fishy: oyster sauce has no fish in it. It is made from oyster mushrooms! Those that had tough beef cooked it too long. Those that said the sherry was too over-powering/strong probably used the cheap stuff. When cooking one should never use any alcohol one would not drink. That being said, I did find this a bit sweet. I used soy sauce from HI, (Aloha Gold) which has less sodium and much more flavor than Kikkoman. You can find it at any Asian market. I only gave it 4 stars, because of the excessive sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Very good on my first try! Next time I will add a table spoon extra soy sauce to create a little more sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 390) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States