Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly. The only drawback I encountered was the sherry. I prefer dryer sherries so naturally that is all I have in the house. I should have scaled back the amount b/c all we could taste was sherry. Next time I will either omit it or cut it back - otherwise the recipe was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KMcBeath

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
I am a culinary specialist in the United States Navy. I have been making this recipe now for about two months and my shipmates love it! What i learned from it primarily was how to properly cook the broccoli so it doesn't turn brown and mushy... Flavors work great together, consistence of the glaze is perfect... Just all around wobderful! Thank you very much for sharing... HOOOOOYAH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Not a huge fan. I had high hopes and I'm wondering if perhaps there was some user error involved but this just didn't turn out very well. Way too much sesame oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
I don't normally care for broccoli beef, but I did love this version! After tasting the marinade as is, I felt it needed a bit more zing. So, I made two minor changes....I tripled the ginger and garlic (and minced both). There was no need to remove it from pan and leaving the minced ginger in gave it way more flavor. I also substituted canola oil for the vegetable oil to cut down on fat. With these minor additions, it was a five star recipe in my book, but gave it a 4 star as written. TIP: I did two batches, by the second batch I was in a major hurry. So, I steamed the broccoli in the microwave for 2 min first, then tossed it into the wok. It cut down on the cooking time and still worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
While I'm sure the recipe is right, mine came out way too salty. I probably reduced the sauce too much. Also, the top round beef is too tough and I think another cut would work better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
I followed this exactly and the sauce is runny like water. Not impressed. I expected a 'glaze'...any idea what went wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palmer, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
This is my go to Chinese recipe. It's great with chicken too. For the beef, I use chuck eye steaks and marinate them 12 hours. Perfect. Great with jasmine rice and I add a tablespoon of sesame seed oil to the rice. Love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Jordan-Payne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
I followed the recipe, but added some red bell pepper and onion that I had picked from my garden. Hubby thought it was a bit too sweet, but otherwise good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maia Marie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amy
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
This was awesome! I cook a lot so I had all of the ingredients! I didn't have fresh ginger so I used my powdered kind. And I had to get cooking sherry. I don't like this but u really can't tell when it is all marinated together. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 350) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States