Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
I loved this recipe and so did everyone else. I have to say it was good, but I think it would've been been great if I had the correct ingredients on hand. I had no sherry, so used red wine, had no oyster sauce so added extra water and an extra teaspoon of Guava Nectar, as we were out of sugar. I had no ginger root so used powdered ginger. Had leftover precooked garlic roast that was cooked rare, very thin sliced. I did add 1 onion also. Then used half cauliflower and half broccoli, as we did not have enough of either. In spite of all those crazy changes, it was still really good! Can't wait to try it with the right ingredients!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
This is great! We double the recipe, and it has now become part of our weekly rotation! We also add onion, green peppers, water chestnuts, and mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
turned out good, but I added a can of tomato soup, and made it even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
I think I now make the best chinese food in town. This stands up to anything in town.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
This was very good, the broccoli was perfect, cooking it this way gave it tons of flavor and kept it fresh and crisp. I forgot to buy ginger root so I sprinkled some ground ginger in the oil, I know it would be much better with the fresh but the powder worked in a pinch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cindylea13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
Just got through eating this - LOVED it! I will be making again and again. I made exactly as stated except used strip steak as another reviewer suggested. So easy and so tasty. The sauce was awesome - better than most chinese places I've eaten beef and broccoli at.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
I made this today to hopefully have for lunch or dinner. I was told that oyster sauce is really strong. However, I wanted to follow the recipe as this stir-fry was different than most I had tried and I thought more authentic. Well, they were right, wow, the oyster sauce was all I could taste. I was fortunate to have also picked up a bottle of hoison sauce. I added more than a 1/3 of a cup of hoison sauce to mask the oyster sauce taste. After that, it was pretty good. Hopefully, when it cools, or I re-heat, the flavors will all blend. This recipe was interesting to try, but I guess I am still looking for what I consider an authentic stir-fry recipe or one closer to my favorite upscale Asian restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
Easy and delicious! Can't wait to have it again. I made it just like the directions said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eva Hagerman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
I made this exactly as written but will change it up the next time I make it, which will be soon. It had a great flavor but was too sweet for me. I had never used oyster sauce before & discovered (too late) that the second ingredient listed after oyster extract, is sugar. I will eliminate the white sugar, substitute a dry white wine (less sweet than sherry), add toasted sesame seeds & more cornstarch as my sauce was too soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
I didn't think this tasted like restaurant beef and broccoli, but it was good, and I will make it again. The sauce seemed salty to my tasted, so I omitted the soy sauce. The sauce turned out OK with that change. I also made about half again as much sauce. Next time I will add sliced onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Plains, New York, USA
Living In: Antioch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 349) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States