Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
Excellent flavor. Fast preparation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Made this last night to use up some tenderloin left over from Christmas Eve dinner. It was very good! Sliced the meat up thin and it only needed a little time in the pan to get warm. A few modifications: I thought a little onion was in order so I sliced it up thin and stir fried it with the garlic, left out the ginger because I don't care for it and added about a teaspoon of chili garlic paste for some oomph. No need to remove the garlic and onion before cooking the meat since it just needed to be warmed. I also steamed my broccoli in the microwave for a minute before adding it because I like it cooked a little more than the stir fry will do it. None leftover! The sauce was really good, I only just realized that I misread the recipe and added Tablespoons of sesame oil & soy instead of teaspoons. Oops, it was good anyways:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Loved this recipe! It tasted just like the one in the Chinese restaurant, but this one didn't make my stomach heavy at all after eating. I will not run and buy a beef & broccoli from Chinese restaurant, but will simply make this one myself. Oh, one little change I made; I didn't have sherry, so used Japanese Sake instead. Worked wonderful :) Sake softened the meat and helped marinating process!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by montycat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Even kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traveltiff

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tehachapi, California, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
This was fantastic and definitely becoming a staple in my routine. The only change i made was using red wine instead of sherry( i didnt have sherry on hand, nor have i ever tasted sherry, so i just guessed maybe red wine would be similar.)And i added,red bell pepper strips, sliced carrots, water chestnuts, bamboo shoots, and baby corn. It was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Georgie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
This was nice, even though I changed a lot. I'm not a beef lover at all, so not too well versed in cooking it. I bought a very thin sirloin and sliced thin strips. To me it was still a bit tough, but like I said, I don't really know how to cook beef well. I made a homemade hoisin sauce to replace the oyster sauce (horrific experience with cooking with oyster sauce. Shudder. Never again). I got it off of chinese.food.com and it was very tasty with this. I also used chicken broth instead of sherry (I don't keep any on hand). Subbed arrowroot for cornstarch, coconut oil for canola, and sucanat for sugar. Added red bell pepper. I can say that this is the first time I've made a stir fry that I'll definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Yummy Recipe. I had all the required ingredients & in addition, added chopped celery, baby bella mushrooms & a 1/2 a sweet onion. It was really good & left the house smelling awesome! Thank you Dianne!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
My teenage son loves this recipe and that is the litmus test for me. The only change I make is to cover the pan while cooking the meat for 3 minutes, as I tended to lose some of the sauce when it finally came time for the broccoli- we like it saucy. I might try the meat tenderizing suggestions put forth by others, just because...so happy to have found this recipe- delicious and simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
I referred to the other comments for this recipe and noted what people liked and what they didn't like. For the marinade, I made a mistake and didn't use the ingredients listed (NOTE TO SELF: READ THE WHOLE RECIPE) and ended up making my own marinade of soy sauce, garlic, ginger, black pepper and sugar, basically a korean BBQ sauce and left the meat to marinade for about 2 hours. I added some onions into the dish and when it came time to cook the meat, used the ingredients listed in the recipe, although I substituted the sherry for orange juice. The marinade I used and the sauce for this recipe did not clash at all and my husband loved it. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
Tasted way too strong of the sherry! Made it as written other than my meat probably marinated for about 2 hours...maybe that was the problem, ..it just soaked the sherry in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 389) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States