Restaurant-Quality Maple Oatmeal Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
WOW!!! These are so yummy. I must say it's a very good recipe. Though I did a couple of things. First, my family doesn't care for currents so I omitted them. Secondly, I only formed into one dough into a large cirlce rather then what was called for. I cut it into 8 pieces. Finally, I brushed the tops with the remaining bit of buttermilk that I had and put regualar granulated sugar on the top. When they were done I made a glaze from 1c. Powedered Sugar, 2T. Real Maple Syrup and A little vanilla and maple extracts. Drizzled this on the cooled scones and it was amazing. They tasted just like the ones that the restaurant I used to work at served. I really must say these are great. I had used another and this recipe I was very happy with. The whole family ate them up. Thank you very much for haring this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GOLDENPHOENIX82

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Naples, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2002
These were really good, however, I thought that baking them at 425 deg. seemed high compared to a lot of other scone recipes I've seen, so (fortunately) I decided to bake them at 375 deg. Even though I only baked them for 15 minutes, they were still overly brown on the bottom, and a few actually burned on the bottom. My oven temperature is usually right on with recipes' baking temp. & time, so I was surprised that these were supposed to bake at 50 deg. higher than I baked them at, yet for the same time as I baked mine. Next time, I'll decrease the baking time further (perhaps 12 or 13 minutes at 375). I used dried cranberries. I was puzzled by the reference to "dried pears" in Step 4 of the recipe since they weren't mentioned as possible ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
Very good! My first scone-making experience and they turned out softer and more tender than ones I've bought from stores. They were crunchy on top because of the sugar(I used the unprocessed natural sugar, so it was a lot more coarse, giving it a very pretty look!). I replaced one cup of the flour with whole wheat pastry flour. My food processor never got the mixture to look coarse or grainy, but more like very fine sand. I love the subtle maple flavor. The only thing I didn't love was the dried cherries...they tasted sort of like raisins after baking. I tasted them before I put them in the batter, and they were good, so I would probably leave them out next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2002
If you want a good recipe look farther. If you want an EXCELLANT scone stop right here. I used dried cranberries in place of the cherries. and viola! Get ready to enjoy the applause!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Agoura Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
I loved this recipe! I did not add the fruit. I used a large scoop and did not roll out the dough. I reduced the heat to 375 degrees F, because I did not roll them out, and cooked for 20 min. I did not add anything to the top. I used salted butter and omitted the extra salt. Wonderful texture. Will make many more times. Would also be great with a maple glaze over the top. Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazyquilter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2002
This was a very sticky and unmanagable dough even after adding extra flour to it, I would not use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
Adding pecans or walnuts would make this similar to the old-style Starbuck's maple-oat scone that I loved so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Bogaart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2001
I am not sure about the kids because they are in that picky stage, but I think these turned out great. I substituted about 1 cup of chopped walnuts in place of the dried cherries. These were terrific. I am thinking of topping them with a maple glaze drizzled over them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2002
Very good scone recipe! They came out very moist, not dry. Very tasty! I would highly recommend to all scone lovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DMMLS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA
Living In: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2002
Scones turned out perfect with a wonderful maple flavor. I used crasins in place of the dried cherries. This is definitely a "keeper" that I will bake often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Princeton, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Pumpkin Scones

Put a tasty winter twist on classic pumpkin scones.

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States