Restaurant-Quality Maple Oatmeal Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
These were good, I would have liked more maple falovour though. I added peacans and raw sugar for the top. I didn't have time for a maple drizzle, but that would have been good too....next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sandy G.
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
I love scones and since I had dried cherries on hand I gave this recipe a try. Makes a good scone, don't know how a previous user said you can't taste the cherries. I didn't have real maple syrup or maple extract so I just used three tablespoons of my "maple flavored" syrup. Still turned out good, but with just a hint of maple. Not as dense as your usual scone, but good just the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy G.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
These are wonderful! Not too sweet, just right in consistency and taste! Try them out, you'll be pleasantly surprised! Love them!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
Great scones. I have baked them for many special occasions, and people can't help but eat more than one. I did use chocolate chips rather than berries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2006
Love love love this recipe. It is fantastic. We always have to have it on hand now. I bake them weekly! I usually make them per recipe, but I recently made them with blueberries. I eliminated the maple extract andI substitued karo light corn syrup for the maple. They turned out great. This really is a can't miss...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
Fantastic! Love these scones. Delicious, subtle maple flavour. Easy to make. My whole family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
Good flavor, but the dough was sticky and unworkable. I ended up just smashing a glob of it between parchment paper into a circle and baking it that way. I doubt I'll make this again, but I've got a couple new flavoring ideas to try with my favorite scone recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
Couldn't taste the cherries and probably wont bother with them next time, but otherwise they were awesome! My Dad loves Maple so I made them for his birthday, he didn't even know what a scone was! He was very impressed, he loved them. Thanx for the great recipie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSS333

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
WOW!!! These are so yummy. I must say it's a very good recipe. Though I did a couple of things. First, my family doesn't care for currents so I omitted them. Secondly, I only formed into one dough into a large cirlce rather then what was called for. I cut it into 8 pieces. Finally, I brushed the tops with the remaining bit of buttermilk that I had and put regualar granulated sugar on the top. When they were done I made a glaze from 1c. Powedered Sugar, 2T. Real Maple Syrup and A little vanilla and maple extracts. Drizzled this on the cooled scones and it was amazing. They tasted just like the ones that the restaurant I used to work at served. I really must say these are great. I had used another and this recipe I was very happy with. The whole family ate them up. Thank you very much for haring this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GOLDENPHOENIX82

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Naples, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
I used dried blueberries instead of cherries and these turned out fabulous. Everyone kept asking me where I bought them. I had never made scones before, so I was a little nervous, but they turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Pumpkin Scones

Put a tasty twist on classic pumpkin scones.

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States